• We are now running on a new, and hopefully much-improved, server. In addition we are also on new forum software. Any move entails a lot of technical details and I suspect we will encounter a few issues as the new server goes live. Please be patient with us. It will be worth it! :) Please help by posting all issues here.
  • The forum will be down for about an hour this weekend for maintenance. I apologize for the inconvenience.
  • If you are having trouble seeing the forum then you may need to clear your browser's DNS cache. Click here for instructions on how to do that
  • Please review the Forum Rules frequently as we are constantly trying to improve the forum for our members and visitors.

College Student CHP permit, resident of VA

mirwin

imported post

I am going to be applying for my CHP very soon in Fairfax County. I am currently a student at Ohio State University but my permanent place of residency is in northern VA. When the application asks for my address, and wants me to list all address for the last 2 years, will that interfere with my resident permit in VA? I am concerned about giving addresses in OH, even though college students for things such as insurance, drivers license, etc.. are all listed at the permanent residence, even if it is in another state (usually where parents are).

nova

imported post

I think it depends on if it's on campus or not...I mean, I live on campus at my college, but I put my home address (as in, where I grew up and still LIVE when not at school) when filling out form 4473's.

EDIT: when it asks for previous addresses, I believe it is asking for permanant residencies...I've never filled out a CHP application (other than the few times I was fooling around) since I have another two years to wait so I can't say for sure.

Hopefully someone else with more experience can give a definate answer better than mine.

Olivers_AR

imported post

mirwin wrote: