Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Gun purchase in Idaho

Post imported post

I didn't know which forum to put this in, since it involves WA and ID, but since Pullman has no gun stores, I was just wondering what the procedure was for buying a gun from a store in Idaho, since I am a Washington resident.

State Researcher

Post imported post

Long arm or handgun? You should be able to purchase a long arm. Otherwise you will need to have the handgun shipped to an FFL dealer in Washington, unless it is a Curio and Relic gun and you have a C&R FFL.

Post imported post

sv_libertarian wrote:
    Long arm or handgun? You should be able to purchase a long arm. Otherwise you will need to have the handgun shipped to an FFL dealer in Washington, unless it is a Curio and Relic gun and you have a C&R FFL.
    I think a long gun requires the shipping to an FFL here in Washington too.

Post imported post

You can buy a long gun in a state that "adjoins" with your state. You cannot do the same with a handgun unless you have it shipped to a FFL. I was gonna buy a long gun in Idaho today but decided to just go buy it in Washington.

State Researcher

Post imported post

It has been sometime since I bought a longgun out of state (about 8 years) but I bought a rifle in Colorado, and one in Texas back in 2000-2001 with Washington ID.

Things could have changed though...

Post imported post

Post imported post

I was planning on getting a long gun, and if they had any screaming deals on handguns I'd get one, but it looks like that's not gonna happen. I'm hoping whoever is working at the store(s) I go to knows the drill.

Post imported post

Dr. Fresh wrote:
    I was planning on getting a long gun, and if they had any screaming deals on handguns I'd get one, but it looks like that's not gonna happen. I'm hoping whoever is working at the store(s) I go to knows the drill.
    Why then at the Portland gun show the dealer wouldn't sell to my buddy a long gun?

Post imported post