Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 45

Thread: How does an 18-21 yr old acquire a handgun?

  1. #1
    State Researcher
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    2,352

    Post imported post

    Ok, I've searched and read, but can't find the answer to this. I have verified that anyone over the age of 18 in North Carolina can own, and therefore carry, a handgun. Obviously you can't purchase one from a FFL dealer until you're 21 due to federal law. So, how does someone between the ages of 18 and 21 acquire a handgun? A pistol purchase permit is required in this state, even for private sales. Can someone between 18 and 21 get a pistol purchase permit without any problems? If not, then how does it happen?

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    , ,
    Posts
    199

    Post imported post

    This happens when you have ur parents buy it for you, this is totally legal, just has to be an immediate family member within your household, and you can only oc. I have been carrying for 2 years started at 18. just dont do anything stupid, know the laws.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    , ,
    Posts
    21

    Post imported post

    But how would one do it without any parents?

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Fairfax County, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    8,621

    Post imported post

    In most states, an 18-20 year old may simply buy a gun from any non-dealer in a private sale. See the gun transfer map at the main page - OpenCarry.org.

    This idea that the gun HAS to be a gift from parents is not really true, except by exception in say, Pennsylvania, which bans private transfers for handdguns, but exempts intra-family transfers.



  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    , ,
    Posts
    199

    Post imported post

    depends on your state nc cant do private sales of any kind for handguns rifles shot guns okay. The only way in nc is to get it from say mom or dad. Other than that um black market. So in all truth might be your state, you can ask a gun dealer, but I would say ask several, also contact atf maybe they can help you.

  6. #6
    State Researcher
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    2,352

    Post imported post

    burninsteeda04 wrote:
    depends on your state nc cant do private sales of any kind for handguns rifles shot guns okay. The only way in nc is to get it from say mom or dad. Other than that um black market. So in all truth might be your state, you can ask a gun dealer, but I would say ask several, also contact atf maybe they can help you.
    You need to cite your claims, because what you're saying sounds really, really wrong.
    In most states, an 18-20 year old may simply buy a gun from any non-dealer in a private sale. See the gun transfer map at the main page - OpenCarry.org.
    The problem with NC is that even private sales require a pistol purchase permit from the Sheriff, and I'm pretty sure they wont give you one of those until you're 21.

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    , ,
    Posts
    199

    Post imported post

    your not understanding and thas cool man, But the thing is cuz I did it.

    step 1.You get your parents to go to the sherriff and fill out the purchase permit application, they approve it.
    step 2. you recive the permit you give ur parents the cash or they buy it for you, such as a gift.
    step 3. you go to the gun dealer with your parents or they go with out you. Then they buy the gun, walk out the store.
    step 4. they give you the gun as a gift.
    step 5. Be responsible with your new gift.

    Now as for if you dont have parents well sadly you will have to wait as there is no way to go around it.

  8. #8
    State Researcher
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    2,352

    Post imported post

    burninsteeda04 wrote:
    your not understanding and thas cool man, But the thing is cuz I did it.

    step 1.You get your parents to go to the sherriff and fill out the purchase permit application, they approve it.
    step 2. you recive the permit you give ur parents the cash or they buy it for you, such as a gift.
    step 3. you go to the gun dealer with your parents or they go with out you. Then they buy the gun, walk out the store.
    step 4. they give you the gun as a gift.
    step 5. Be responsible with your new gift.

    Now as for if you dont have parents well sadly you will have to wait as there is no way to go around it.

    First of all, do you know what cite means? Second of all, parents are not involved here, and I'm not asking for myself. I'm asking for general knowledge since I've been asked this question multiple times by various people.


  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    , ,
    Posts
    199

    Post imported post

    All im saying is this is how it works, bottom line i dont know an exact page that states in in the NCGS. However i have talked to the atf. Otherwise I dont know how you could get it. This is how I did it im speaking from personal experience. no Cite needed. anyways good luck with your endeavors im sorry that i couldn't answer your question throughly.

  10. #10
    State Researcher
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    2,352

    Post imported post


  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Mineral Wells, Tx., ,
    Posts
    203

    Post imported post

    burninsteeda04 wrote:
    depends on your state nc cant do private sales of any kind for handguns rifles shot guns okay. The only way in nc is to get it from say mom or dad. Other than that um black market. So in all truth might be your state, you can ask a gun dealer, but I would say ask several, also contact atf maybe they can help you.
    Yes you can but the person buying from you needs to have a pistol permit just like if he were buying from a FFL dealer.



  12. #12
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    , ,
    Posts
    40

    Post imported post

    If you need to obtain a permit to inherit a handgun, why wouldn't you need one to reccive one as a gift?

  13. #13
    State Researcher
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    2,352

    Post imported post

    USNRCorpsman wrote:
    If you need to obtain a permit to inherit a handgun, why wouldn't you need one to reccive one as a gift?
    You DO need one in NC. You have to have a pistol purchase permit to acquire a handgun within the State of NC, period. There are no exceptions.

  14. #14
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    , ,
    Posts
    199

    Post imported post

    Thats funny because i acquired my handgun from my parents as a gift. never needed a pistol purchase permit what so ever. Even asked local sheriff, and reputable gun dealer. This is the same concept as going to Virginia and doing a private sale. or now SC. you don't need to have a pistol purchase permit in those states.

    So i dont see how you HAVE TO have the pistol purchase permit to aquire a hand gun. Now for a sale i can see that.

    Maybe you can enlighten me DREQO

  15. #15
    State Researcher
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    2,352

    Post imported post

    burninsteeda04 wrote:
    Thats funny because i acquired my handgun from my parents as a gift. never needed a pistol purchase permit what so ever. Even asked local sheriff, and reputable gun dealer. This is the same concept as going to Virginia and doing a private sale. or now SC. you don't need to have a pistol purchase permit in those states.

    So i dont see how you HAVE TO have the pistol purchase permit to aquire a hand gun. Now for a sale i can see that.

    Maybe you can enlighten me DREQO
    Well my information is directly from the Craven County Sheriff's Office. I just called to verify that what I said in my last post was correct, and they said it was. Now granted, I take any legal advice from LEO's with a grain of salt, lol. What county are you in? Iwouldn'tmind calling both offices and clearing things up!

  16. #16
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    , ,
    Posts
    199

    Post imported post

    I talked to both Union County and Meck And also One Shot gun Works in indian trail

  17. #17
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    , ,
    Posts
    199

    Post imported post

    also talked to atf out of new orleans

  18. #18
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Mineral Wells, Tx., ,
    Posts
    203

    Post imported post

    burninsteeda04 wrote:
    also talked to atf out of new orleans
    The feds don't have a problem with it infact that's one of the q&a s on their FAQ page but the feds pretty much can't tell the states that they must allow gifting of firearms without a permit.

    I've read though NC firearms laws pretty extensivly but have yet to find any place where it makes an exception for the gifting of firearms to family members w/out a permit. However it dosen't specify that they have to have one either.



  19. #19
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    , ,
    Posts
    199

    Post imported post

    Thats kinda where it goes no law stating that you have to have a pistol purchase permit. I also would say that you acquired it through a private sale in another state if questioned.
    But Another thing in my opinion is its a PISTOL PURCHASE PERMIT.

    Not a PISTOL ACQUIREMENT PERMIT.

    I will say this IMHO at some point in time you would probably want to get a transfer done.

  20. #20
    State Researcher
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    2,352

    Post imported post

    I called the UnionCounty Sheriff's Office. I believe I spoke directly with the Sheriff. I asked if a pistol purchase permit was required if a hangun was given to me as a gift. He said yes, because if that firearm needs to be traced, the ATF needs a record of the transaction. :? So then I was going to ask him specifically about someone between 18 and 21. I started the question with "Ok, now I know that according to North Carolina State law, anyone over the age of 18 can possess a handgun..". He stopped me, and said you must be 21. So I clarified, and he said that you must be 21 or over to possess a handgun in NC. I told him I didn't have any other questions and ended the conversation.

    I just love this crap, don't you? Anyway I still believe that a purchase permit is required, even if it is transfered as a gift. Jeepinbanditrider is right that there's no exception in NC State law.



  21. #21
    State Researcher
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    2,352

    Post imported post

    burninsteeda04 wrote:
    Thats kinda where it goes no law stating that you have to have a pistol purchase permit. I also would say that you acquired it through a private sale in another state if questioned.
    But Another thing in my opinion is its a PISTOL PURCHASE PERMIT.

    Not a PISTOL ACQUIREMENT PERMIT.

    I will say this IMHO at some point in time you would probably want to get a transfer done.
    http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedL...GS_14-402.html
    § 14‑402. Sale of certain weapons without permit forbidden.
    (a) It is unlawful for any person, firm, or corporation in this State to sell, give away, or transfer, or to purchase or receive, at any place within this State from any other place within or without the State any pistol or crossbow unless: (i) a license or permit is first obtained under this Article by the purchaser or receiver from the sheriff of the county in which the purchaser or receiver resides; or (ii) a valid North Carolina concealed handgun permit is held under Article 54B of this Chapter by the purchaser or receiver who must be a resident of the State at the time of the purchase
    .
    Burninsteeda04, you are wrong. Furthermore, you REALLY shouldn't suggest that someone lie to law enforcement. There are no exceptions to this law. If you are over 18 but under 21, you must leave the state in order to legally acquire a handgun.

  22. #22
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    , ,
    Posts
    199

    Post imported post

    Like i said i went by what i was told obviously there is alot of conflict in this. I honestly dont think it truely matters. One of those un inforcable laws. ianal

  23. #23
    State Researcher
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    2,352

    Post imported post

    burninsteeda04 wrote:
    Like i said i went by what i was told obviously there is alot of conflict in this. I honestly dont think it truely matters. One of those un inforcable laws. ianal
    Unenforceable? Ifsomeone purchases a handgun legally for the purpose of giving it to someone who can not obtain a pistol purchase permit, that is a crime. Furthermore, by giving the handgun to that individual, that is ALSO an illegal transfer of a handgun, making both parties guilty of another crime. If that handgun ever has its serial number traced, it will go back to the person that legally purchased it. Now they can either admit that they illegally transfered it to another person, or they can lie. NOT a good situation to be in.

    Now keep in mind I'm not saying I agree with any of this crap. This is just what the law says.

  24. #24
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    , ,
    Posts
    199

    Post imported post

    I spoke to the BATF in Raliegh and was told that it is not illegal for you to possess at 18 under 21 but it is illegal for you to purchase. You may recive a handgun at 18 as a gift. However you may not purchase amunition for the purposes of discharging a firearm. This was a phone interview and I can not cite this. But I see a huge conflict with the GS 14-402. Im not sure how to adress this issue. I also spoke to One Shot gun works. His understanding was that GS-14-402 was for the TRANSFER of a firearm.

    looks like the AG should be contacted

  25. #25
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    , ,
    Posts
    199

    Post imported post

    This is got to be one of the most difficult questions i have run across. I really wish someone could come up with a definitive answer on this question. Regardless I will get my pistol purchase permit and do a transfer bottom line.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •