Thread: My lease prohibits possession of a firearm

Post imported post

Now, I'm not worried about things as far as my landlord goes. There's basically nothing they can do to enforce their silly prohibition.

However, I would like to pick up a 1911 for myself in California (my Virginia guns are unregistered and with my parents, where they're going to stay), and start OCing, at least occasionally, here.

Are there any real legal ramifications to my lease? That is to say, will it in any way affect my legal rights, in or out of my house (self-defense in the home, open carry outside it)?

Obviously, I'm a CA resident these days, just in case anybody is wondering.

Post imported post

State law pre-empts

Your car is your property, andan extension of your home: CA legal to carry/transport in your car.

The sidewalk to your front door is public access, unless in a gated community, regardless: CA legal to transport to and from car.

Your house or apt. is your property under law: CA legal to posess or carry in any lawful manner.

He can deny you guns, like he can deny you driving a Chevy.

Post imported post

Army's answer above is not entirely correct.

He states that state law pre-empts the landlord. The landlord's lease language is enforceable as between the two of you. Meaning that if the landlord discovers you possess a handgun he CAN if he wishes, enforce the lease terms and kick you out for violation of the lease or force you to dispossess yourself of the handgun.