• We are now running on a new, and hopefully much-improved, server. In addition we are also on new forum software. Any move entails a lot of technical details and I suspect we will encounter a few issues as the new server goes live. Please be patient with us. It will be worth it! :) Please help by posting all issues here.
  • The forum will be down for about an hour this weekend for maintenance. I apologize for the inconvenience.
  • If you are having trouble seeing the forum then you may need to clear your browser's DNS cache. Click here for instructions on how to do that
  • Please review the Forum Rules frequently as we are constantly trying to improve the forum for our members and visitors.

OC in cold weather

cappilot06

imported post

I am new to the OC in Delaware. Haven't done it as of yet, but want to. It's summer now, so not a big issue with accidentally concealing. What does everyone do in the winter when any LEO could claim your concealing for having a coat or jacket on?

Also, if carrying openly in public do you immediately take off the holster and place on the seat when getting in your car? Or does simply having a non-cealed weapon on your person while in the car suffice?

Thank for any input you can give me.

Potential new OC'r.

stephpd

imported post

I, personnelly, don't open carry, but they guys aroung here seem to wear a short coat that can't cover the gun. And you have to take the gun out of the holster when in a car. On the passenger seat or dashboard is the general concensus. On the console between the seats could still be considered concealed from PLAIN view.

I carry concealed with the license and it's about the opposite. As weather gets warmer you have to get more creative in where to hide a gun. Winter is easy and summer for me in not much more then a t-shirt and shorts. I've found the smartcarry able to conceal in nothing but shorts.

Oh, and welcome to the forums.:lol:

Headfirst

imported post

stephpd wrote: