Thread: OC in Lacey Walmart

Post imported post

So tonight my wife and I go into the Lacey walmart to grab a few things and yes we were OCing. We were drawn into convo with a younger and very tattooed couple from Longbeach who wanted to know about OCing in public.

About 30 minutes into it i was approched by one of the stores manager who asked me if i was a cop. I said no why? He informed me that walmarts rules forbid me from carrying a weapon in the store and he asked me to leave.

Now keep in mind i was very polite and i asked him if he had ever heard of Opencarry.org? He said no and asked what it was....

So after explaining to him that walmart corperate said they will mirror state law and what i was doing was completely legal he asked me if i had a CWP and then asked to see it.

I handed him the permit with my license and i told him that i would get him the law so he could better educate his employee's as to what is acceptable by corp and the law.

I then said that i would conceal my weapon but leaving would not happen until i was done with my shopping. I also explained that it might be to quick to ask someone to leave without checking with corp and state law as business's who do not support the law get put on a do not patrinize list and us OC'ers will shop else were and there are alot of us in the state.

I also explained that i shop at walmart on a regular basis in tacoma and federal way and i have NEVER been asked to leave or hide my weapon. He then rethought his sitution and asked me to bring in the info so he could correct any miss understanding there might be.

So in the end i was waiting to run into Lacey PD but they never showed up and i will bring him the info sunday when i am back down in lacey, I hope i handled that well it was my first contact from anyone over my OCing

State Researcher

Post imported post

Cool! Well handled and done! Welcome to the board BTW.