Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 32

Thread: OC Minimum Age

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    clinton, Utah, USA
    Posts
    13

    Post imported post

    I was just wondering what the minimum age to oc is becus on the frunt page it ses Minimum Age to OC No Statutory Limit so what does that meen ? :?

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Bountiful, Utah, , USA
    Posts
    472

    Post imported post

    On your own, I wouldn't recommend carrying a handgun in public unless you are 18+

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    clinton, Utah, USA
    Posts
    13

    Post imported post

    k i am 18 so does that meen it is legal for me to carry ?

  4. #4
    State Researcher Kevin Jensen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Santaquin, Utah, USA
    Posts
    2,313

    Post imported post

    Welcome to OCDO, HAPPY! Yes, you can open carry (unloaded) at 18. Here are the applicable laws.


    76-10-502. When weapon deemed loaded.
    (1) For the purpose of this chapter, any pistol, revolver, shotgun, rifle, or other weapon described in this part shall be deemed to be loaded when there is an unexpended cartridge, shell, or projectile in the firing position.
    (2) Pistols and revolvers shall also be deemed to be loaded when an unexpended cartridge, shell, or projectile is in a position whereby the manual operation of any mechanism once would cause the unexpended cartridge, shell, or projectile to be fired.
    (3) A muzzle loading firearm shall be deemed to be loaded when it is capped or primed and has a powder charge and ball or shot in the barrel or cylinders.


    76-10-505. Carrying loaded firearm in vehicle or on street.
    (1) Unless otherwise authorized by law, a person may not carry a loaded firearm:
    (a) in or on a vehicle;
    (b) on any public street; or
    (c) in a posted prohibited area.
    (2) A violation of this section is a class B misdemeanor.

    76-10-509. Possession of dangerous weapon by minor.
    (1) A minor under 18 years of age may not possess a dangerous weapon unless he:
    (a) has the permission of his parent or guardian to have the weapon; or
    (b) is accompanied by a parent or guardian while he has the weapon in his possession.
    (2) Any minor under 14 years of age in possession of a dangerous weapon shall be accompanied by a responsible adult.
    (3) Any person who violates this section is guilty of:
    (a) a class B misdemeanor upon the first offense; and
    (b) a class A misdemeanor for each subsequent offense.


    76-10-509.4. Prohibition of possession of certain weapons by minors.
    (1) A minor under 18 years of age may not possess a handgun.
    (2) Except as provided by federal law, a minor under 18 years of age may not possess the following:
    (a) a sawed-off rifle or sawed-off shotgun; or
    (b) a fully automatic weapon.
    (3) Any person who violates Subsection (1) is guilty of:
    (a) a class B misdemeanor upon the first offense; and
    (b) a class A misdemeanor for each subsequent offense.
    (4) Any person who violates Subsection (2) is guilty of a third degree felony.



    "An armed society is a polite society. Manners are good when one may have to back up his acts with his life." Robert A. Heinlein

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Lehi, Utah, USA
    Posts
    478

    Post imported post

    Yes you can OC (Or get a maine permit and CC - See B1ack5mith for details) at age 18.

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Bountiful, Utah, , USA
    Posts
    472

    Post imported post

    Yes, it is legal for you to openly carry your firearm provided that you carry "Utah unloaded". This means with a semi-auto pistol your magazine can be full, but there cannot be a round in the chamber. With a revolver, there cannot be a round under the hammer or a round in the next firing position. Either way, Utah law requires two mechanical actions (rack the slide and pull the trigger, or pull the trigger twice) to fire in order to be considered unloaded.

    Make sure you stay clear of school zones (1000+ from school), keep the firearm in plain view in your car or securely encased (not in glove box or center console) and do not enter secure areas (mental hospitals, airport secure areas, federal buildings, etc).

    Pick up a copy of Mitch Vilos' Utah Gun Law, 3rd Edition, it will help you understand the Utah law much better and is only $20.

    If you have other Q's, please ask.

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    clinton, Utah, USA
    Posts
    13

    Post imported post

    man i am soo happy i thought i was going to hav to waght till i was 21 ill go and pick up that book becus im sur ill be a little parinoyd for a wile


    :celebrate:celebrate

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
    Posts
    800

    Post imported post

    Get the book! I would recommend reading it at least twice and memorizing the applicable laws before you start OCing, it will make you much more confident!

    You don't need to memorize the laws word for word, just learn the Title, Chapter and Section numbers and what each one talks about.

    A lot of people also carry a small digital voice recorder to record any LEO/ignorant citizen encounters, most newer cell phones already have a voice recorder function built in. I highly recommend this practice and, though I haven't needed it yet, I carry one with me at all times.

    For a quick over view of applicable laws, download my Utah Gun Law pamphlet over at utahconcealedcarry.com -- I don't have the link now, but I am sure someone will be kind enough to link it...

    Try and make it out to the campout/shoot on June 14-15 to meet some great folks!

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Bountiful, Utah, , USA
    Posts
    472

    Post imported post

    You can get Scotty's pamphlet here.

    You may also want to peruse the Handy Links thread over on Utah Concealed Carry.

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    clinton, Utah, USA
    Posts
    13

    Post imported post

    does it matter what kind of holster i use as long as you can see the gun ??

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Bountiful, Utah, , USA
    Posts
    472

    Post imported post

    Not as long as it's not concealed. I wouldn't use an IWB holster as that might be misconstrued as concealing. Anything that puts the sidearm on the outside of your clothing and does not cover the entire weapon should be fine.

  12. #12
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Orem, Utah, USA
    Posts
    385

    Post imported post

    GeneticsDave wrote:
    You can get Scotty's pamphlet here.

    You may also want to peruse the Handy Links thread over on Utah Concealed Carry.
    I was looking for that.
    Charles A. Hall, self-proclaimed Lone Eagle || Carry: Kahr CW40
    Lone Eagle Observer (http://www.charlesahall.us)
    Facebook Page || http://twitter.com/CharlesAHall

  13. #13
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    clinton, Utah, USA
    Posts
    13

    Post imported post

    one mor question can i hav my extra mags concealed

  14. #14
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Bountiful, Utah, , USA
    Posts
    472

    Post imported post

    No rule against concealing ammunition as far as I know.

  15. #15
    Founder's Club Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Cottonwood Heights, Utah, USA
    Posts
    545

    Post imported post

    Welcome... and happy OC'ing...

    Hope to see you at some events.

  16. #16
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Lehi, Utah, USA
    Posts
    478

    Post imported post

    GeneticsDave wrote:
    No rule against concealing ammunition as far as I know.
    You should be good to conceal your ammo if desired. I wouldn't just toss a mag in your pocket though, lint, dirt, etc. Mag holster are cheap ($15 or less usually) and you can get CC or OC mag holsters.

  17. #17
    Founder's Club Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Cottonwood Heights, Utah, USA
    Posts
    545

    Post imported post

    xmirage2kx wrote:
    GeneticsDave wrote:
    No rule against concealing ammunition as far as I know.
    You should be good to conceal your ammo if desired. I wouldn't just toss a mag in your pocket though, lint, dirt, etc. Mag holster are cheap ($15 or less usually) and you can get CC or OC mag holsters.
    Or if you have a leatherman pouch hanging around doing nothing and don't intend to carry the leatherman everywhere, you can use that. I put one extra mag and a knife in mine.

  18. #18
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Layton, Utah, USA
    Posts
    275

    Post imported post

    xmirage2kx wrote:
    Yes you can OC (Or get a maine permit and CC - See B1ack5mith for details) at age 18.
    Having the main permit is great. I oc now and it is loaded. And when certain situations come up I have the ability to cc now. The maine permit is easy to get. Just need to be 18, fill out a little paperwork, get some photos and send it off.

  19. #19
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Orem, Utah, USA
    Posts
    385

    Post imported post

    HAPPY wrote:
    one mor question can i hav my extra mags concealed
    I carry an extra magazine in my pocket but some get a single case belt pouch for them, which I'm going to be looking into. Looks just like a Leatherman on your hip but secretly it is another 12 round pouch for making more holes in whatever you maybe shooting.
    Charles A. Hall, self-proclaimed Lone Eagle || Carry: Kahr CW40
    Lone Eagle Observer (http://www.charlesahall.us)
    Facebook Page || http://twitter.com/CharlesAHall

  20. #20
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    clinton, Utah, USA
    Posts
    13

    Post imported post

    rocknsnow wrote:
    xmirage2kx wrote:
    Yes you can OC (Or get a maine permit and CC - See B1ack5mith for details) at age 18.
    Having the main permit is great. I oc now and it is loaded. And when certain situations come up I have the ability to cc now. The maine permit is easy to get. Just need to be 18, fill out a little paperwork, get some photos and send it off.
    wher wold i go to do that just a gun shop


  21. #21
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Lehi, Utah, USA
    Posts
    478

    Post imported post

    HAPPY wrote:
    rocknsnow wrote:
    xmirage2kx wrote:
    Yes you can OC (Or get a maine permit and CC - See B1ack5mith for details) at age 18.
    Having the main permit is great. I oc now and it is loaded. And when certain situations come up I have the ability to cc now. The maine permit is easy to get. Just need to be 18, fill out a little paperwork, get some photos and send it off.
    wher wold i go to do that just a gun shop
    http://[highlight= #ffff88]maine[/highlight].gov/dps/msp/licenses/weapons_permits.html

  22. #22
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    clinton, Utah, USA
    Posts
    13

    Post imported post

    xmirage2kx wrote:
    HAPPY wrote:
    rocknsnow wrote:
    xmirage2kx wrote:
    Yes you can OC (Or get a maine permit and CC - See B1ack5mith for details) at age 18.
    Having the main permit is great. I oc now and it is loaded. And when certain situations come up I have the ability to cc now. The maine permit is easy to get. Just need to be 18, fill out a little paperwork, get some photos and send it off.
    wher wold i go to do that just a gun shop
    http://[highlight= #ffff88]maine.gov/dps/msp/licenses/weapons_permits.html
    does the Maine non-resident permit let me cc in Utah or does it just help me oc

  23. #23
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Firestone, Colorado
    Posts
    1,189

    Post imported post

    HAPPY wrote:
    does the Maine non-resident permit let me cc in Utah or does it just help me oc
    Utah regards any permit, issued by any state or county, as equivalent to its own CFP. So whatever you can do with a Utah CFP, you can also do with a Maine permit -- with one possible exception that arises from federal law, not state law.

    The federal Gun Free School Zones Act makes it a crime to possess a gun on or within 1000 feet of a K-12 school, but it provides an exemption for people licensed to carry by the state in which the school resides. So a Utah CFP definitely allows you to carry in K-12 schools in Utah. A non-Utah permit MAY allow you to carry in K-12 schools in Utah -- it depends on how a court interprets the word "license" in the federal law.

    The federal law doesn't address post-secondary schools, and Utah law specifically allows carry there, with any permit, so you're good to carry at colleges and universities with a Maine permit. CC or OC doesn't matter, except that the school may try to hassle you for OC.

  24. #24
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Layton, Utah, USA
    Posts
    275

    Post imported post

    You need to download the packet of paperwork from the maine state website, here is that link.

    http://www.maine.gov/dps/msp/license...s_permits.html

    Make sure you download the "non-resident packet".

    You will also need to attend a Concealed Course here in Utah. FBMG does them from free for students, teachers, military...

    You add the paper you get from the class to the packet. Add your $60 and send if off. You should have the permit with in a few months.

    If you got questions let me know.



  25. #25
    Regular Member thx997303's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Lehi, Utah, USA
    Posts
    2,716

    Post imported post

    Wait, FBMG does them free for the Military? Why didn't anybody tell me this sooner?

    Do they have a website?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •