Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Handgun age

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    , ,
    Posts
    431

    Post imported post

    In Utah, I thought that you could only purchase a handgun if you were 21 period. Can someone clarify if a person who is over 18 can purchase a firearm as a private sale? Any quotations you have of the law would be very helpful.

    Just don't want to go doing an illegal transaction.

    Also, what should I check for? If the person seems "upstanding", is that enough to protect me? Do I need to verify they aren't a felon, etc?

    Thanks for any help, forum-goers

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Bountiful, Utah, , USA
    Posts
    472

    Post imported post

    21 years old to buy from a FFL dealer, 18 in a private sale.

    You don't have to know that they are not a felon, how could you? You don't have access to those records. As long they don't have any charges that you are aware of, you are fine.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    , ,
    Posts
    431

    Post imported post

    Hahahah that's awesome! I was hoping Genetics Dave would reply.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Bountiful, Utah, , USA
    Posts
    472

    Post imported post

    According to 18 U.S.C. 922(b)(1):
    (b) It shall be unlawful for any licensed importer, licensed manufacturer, licensed dealer, or licensed collector to sell or deliver-- (1) any firearm or ammunition to any individual who the licensee knows or has reasonable cause to believe is less than eighteen years of age, and, if the firearm, or ammunition is other than a shotgun or rifle, or ammunition for a shotgun or rifle, to any individual who the licensee knows or has reasonable cause to believe is less than twenty-one years of age;
    This restriction only applies to dealers. As long as you don't know of any criminal background, you may sell to a person 18+ y/o.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Bountiful, Utah, , USA
    Posts
    472

    Post imported post

    xRapidDavex wrote:
    Hahahah that's awesome! I was hoping Genetics Dave would reply.
    Not sure what to think about that response, but sure, you're welcome!

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    , ,
    Posts
    431

    Post imported post

    It means I think you're very knowledgable - it was a compliment

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Bountiful, Utah, , USA
    Posts
    472

    Post imported post

    Thanks

    As far as Utah law goes, look at U.C.A. 76-10-509.9:
    76-10-509.9. Sales of firearms to juveniles. (1) A person may not sell any firearm to a minor under 18 years of age unless the minor is accompanied by a parent or guardian. (2) Any person who violates this section is guilty of a third degree felony.
    So in Utah you can't sell to someone under 18 without their parent there (dealers cannot do this, only private citizens, dealers may only sell to 21+ with background check). If they are 18+ you don't need the parent/guardian to be present. This makes sense, heck, at 18 you can enlist and die for your country, but what? You can't buy a gun? Stupid. It would stand to reason that you are considered an adult at 18, now we just need to change the silly FFL and drinking age from 21 back to where it should be.


  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    , ,
    Posts
    431

    Post imported post

    Dave, did you get my pm i sent you?

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Bountiful, Utah, , USA
    Posts
    472

    Post imported post

    Just got it, thanks! Give me a call.

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    West Jordan, Utah, USA
    Posts
    62

    Post imported post

    GeneticsDave wrote:
    Thanks

    As far as Utah law goes, look at U.C.A. 76-10-509.9:
    76-10-509.9. Sales of firearms to juveniles. (1) A person may not sell any firearm to a minor under 18 years of age unless the minor is accompanied by a parent or guardian. (2) Any person who violates this section is guilty of a third degree felony.
    So in Utah you can't sell to someone under 18 without their parent there (dealers cannot do this, only private citizens, dealers may only sell to 21+ with background check). If they are 18+ you don't need the parent/guardian to be present. This makes sense, heck, at 18 you can enlist and die for your country, but what? You can't buy a gun? Stupid. It would stand to reason that you are considered an adult at 18, now we just need to change the silly FFL and drinking age from 21 back to where it should be.
    You do not need to be 21 to purchase long guns (rifles and shotguns) from a dealer... you only need to be 18. To buy a handgun from a dealer you need to be at least 21.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •