Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Definition of "clearly visible"?

Post imported post

I'm new to open carry and have a question...Virginia law says you may open carry in a vehicle, but it must be clearly visible.

Sitting in the drivers seat withmy weapon on my right hip, it cannot be seen by someone standing outside the drivers door looking in the window (such as a cop).

So I'm a tad confused by the definition of "clearly visible". A friend suggests that as long as no attempt is made to intentionally hide the weapon, then it may be considered clearly visible...but like me, is not sure.

So, what's the answer? Iwant to make sure I'm following the law 100%.

Thanks!

Post imported post

I am unsure of this also.

Post imported post

Well the law actually doesn't say you can open carry. It doesn't say anything about it at all. Therefore since it is not prohibitted, it is legal. What the law does say is that your gun can't be "hidden from common observation" unless you have your CHP.

So the question is: if you have your gun holstered in your vehicle, is it hidden from common observation? I think it's kind of a gray area, in some vehicles (like mine) with bucket seats when you put your seatbelt on - you can't see the gun at all. Before I had my permit, I would just keep the gun on the passenger seat where it can't be missed.

What your friend says is wrong though, your intentions don't matter. For instance: if you don't have a CHP and were open carrying in a holster, but it was cold so you put on a jacket (not realising you were covering up your gun) - it would still be breaking the law.

www.ProactiveShooters.com, Richmond, Va., , USA

Post imported post

As vt357 stated, there is nothing in the law that addresses open carry. We have to take the law on concealed carry and reverse it to get what we need.