• We are now running on a new, and hopefully much-improved, server. In addition we are also on new forum software. Any move entails a lot of technical details and I suspect we will encounter a few issues as the new server goes live. Please be patient with us. It will be worth it! :) Please help by posting all issues here.
  • The forum will be down for about an hour this weekend for maintenance. I apologize for the inconvenience.
  • If you are having trouble seeing the forum then you may need to clear your browser's DNS cache. Click here for instructions on how to do that
  • Please review the Forum Rules frequently as we are constantly trying to improve the forum for our members and visitors.

Definition of "clearly visible"?

VA Caver

imported post

I'm new to open carry and have a question...Virginia law says you may open carry in a vehicle, but it must be clearly visible.

Sitting in the drivers seat withmy weapon on my right hip, it cannot be seen by someone standing outside the drivers door looking in the window (such as a cop).

So I'm a tad confused by the definition of "clearly visible". A friend suggests that as long as no attempt is made to intentionally hide the weapon, then it may be considered clearly visible...but like me, is not sure.

So, what's the answer? Iwant to make sure I'm following the law 100%.

Thanks!

vt357

imported post

Well the law actually doesn't say you can open carry. It doesn't say anything about it at all. Therefore since it is not prohibitted, it is legal. What the law does say is that your gun can't be "hidden from common observation" unless you have your CHP.

So the question is: if you have your gun holstered in your vehicle, is it hidden from common observation? I think it's kind of a gray area, in some vehicles (like mine) with bucket seats when you put your seatbelt on - you can't see the gun at all. Before I had my permit, I would just keep the gun on the passenger seat where it can't be missed.