choko wrote:You can open carry in all of Colorado except for the City and County of Denver and certain prohibited areas (schools, government buildings with permanent security/metal detectors, legislative buildings, federal buildings, etc). Private businesses can also ban OC but they are supposed to have proper signage (every time that I have been asked to leave a store for OCing it was from a store with no signs). Most businesses could care less if you OC but I have had a few problems.Hello all
Came across this site when i was searching for laws.
I live in Nortghlenn, CO I have a .22 mosquito ' yeah i know, its a baby
Only had my CO drivers lisence ; legal resident for a month' moved here from buffalo, ny
I was told that i have to wait 6 months to get a concealed permit, but for now i can OC?
Not looking for any trouble with the law, but does anyone live in northglenn, broomfield area? i want to OC but want to make sure i dont go in the wrong area
OC in car while driving how are they on that? if the clip isnt loaded?
Coming from NY we had prolly the most strict rules and didnt allow have OC
Also,if i dont wanna OC in a store. i can legally leave it in car correct? when im driving does it ' have to be on me? or can it be in car unloaded?
Thanks all !=)
OC is fine in Broomfield and Northglenn (I've never had any problems) but make sure you dont cross into Denver.
You can OC or CC in an automobile without a permit and the gun can be loaded with or without a round in the chamber. The only exceptions to this are rifles and shotguns which can be loaded but cannot have a round chambered. Again, a firearm can be left in plain view while driving or it can be concealed (like in a glove compartment), it doesnt really matter.
I'm not sure on the 6 month waiting period. Maybe someone else on the forum will know.
You can always go to RMGO's site which has a good overview of Colorado's gun laws.