Thread: Is open carry a First Amendment right?

Post imported post

Hello all, this is my first post here. I am very new to the OC movement, in fact I only really heard about it due to a anti-OC article I read online. One thing that struck me in that, and other similar articles I have read however, is the idea that by practicing OC, adherants are attempting to make a political point. This idea seemed to raise the ire of Anti-OC opponents more than anything else. But it seems to me that the very act of engaging in OC is in fact a political statement and as such should be covered under the First Amendment as well as under the Second. What are your thoughts?

Activist Member

Post imported post

Welcome to the forum mwm1331.

I would say that you are right. I've thought the same thing.

Founder's Club Member

Post imported post

Great First Post! Welcome to the forum.

I agree, it's definitely a combination of first and second amendment rights.

Any time you do anything hoping to provoke people to think about something that has been politicized, you are exercising your 1A right...

Post imported post

Good point, and I'll admit that I had never thought of it in that regard.

Unfortuantely, if we start putting in 1A territory, it could be argued that permit restrictions are constitutional, per the legality of restrictions on other public acts of protest. The Second is the only one that "shall not be infringed".

Founder's Club Member

Post imported post

mwm1331 wrote: