Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: open carry of blades in washington

Post imported post

hello all. I am a longtime lurker first time poster and i love this community and your cause.
    I know that in washington open carry of firearms is legal without a permit except in a car, where you need a concealed weapon permit to carry a loaded gun. I alas don't have a firearm, as i'm a poor college student who can't afford one right now.. Most attacks in my city don't involve guns and we have a law against discharging firearms in city limitsas well. I do often openly carry a gerber machete as a deterrent to being assaulted and i'm wondering if this is subject to any special laws in bellingham, washington. I've gotten some weird looks and was questioned once by a very polite LEO who just asked me why i was carrying a machete on the bus (just one question) and then left me alone and told the bus driver that i wasn't doing anything illegal when i told her "self defense". Is it lawful to carry a machete in the passenger area of a car? I know about the seattle knife law. thank you for your advice

p.s. you guys hear about the recent ferndale assault with a boxcutter? horrible stuff, glad they caught him so quick.

Post imported post

Welcome joshcdc

I was born and raised in Bellingham and still have family there. Yeah i read about the gal attacked in Ferndale with the box cutter at ATM. Seems like there is something every day.

I will leave your question on carry to more experienced posters. just wanted to welcome you.

Post imported post

I don't know about the knife laws but may I offer this:

Most attacks in my city don't involve guns
    It doesn't matter. There are plenty of reasons you could legally fire a gun in self defense even if it was clear the attacker(s) wasn't armed with a gun.

and we have a law against discharging firearms in city limitsas well
    Again, doesn't matter. If you are firing in legal self defense, laws against discharge are trumped.