If you're going to try to push something, why push lower fees of CCW issuance when you could push to abolish permitting requirements for CC?
Thread: What laws need to be changed?
Ok guys and Gals. What gun laws would you like changed in the state of Arkansas?
Here is what I want.
1.Open Carry Legal
2. Public Gathering gone.
3. Price of a CHL dropped WAY down.
Add what you want. I know Arkansas already has an group the wants to change the laws, but from what I have seen they are not very effective. I think there needs to be a stronger, more effective group. If you would like to help me start a better Gun Rights Org. in Arkansas please contact me.
Gruntpain1775--When I took my CCW class, the instructor said the fees Arkansas is charging is a BIG CASH COW, making over $One million $$$ for the state. So don't expect them to be dropping the fee anytime soon. Just my humble opinion
Someone could run for office.
Why open carry? Because 1911 > 911.
As far as the cost are concerned I had to pay $144 to the state and $75 for the 8hr. course. That was in August of '07. The law says the directorhas 120 days to approve or deny an application. It was like 8 months before I got mine. After 120 days I called the ASPand they said they needed more fingerprints so my instructor took 2 more sets and I sent them off. Note I had to call them to find out what was needed. I never heard one request.In Arkansas If they cant read 3 print cards they must make a decision on any other info on the applicant. Finally i got it all taken care of, but it was a huge pain.
It took me about 5 weeks to get mine. I just kept calling the Cpl in charge there and hounding them, so maybe that helped. On the training note, when it comes time to renew the CHCL unless I am reading it wrong you have to take the firearms class again?
Yeah, you DO have to take the class again to re-new the license.