Thread: Mostly uneventful day

Post imported post

I am still very new to OC, but decided to fully conquer my fears yesterday, since I planned to be running around town for several hours. Needed some ammo and boots, so I went to Sportsman's first thing in the morning. While I was looking at so #000 buckshot (insert evil smiley here) a man walks up to me and nods towards my gun "Do you need a permit to carry like that?" I tell him "Not at all," and then procede to stumble through RCW 9.41.290... he chuckles, and corrects me "It's 9.41.270," then he hands me a flyer and introduces himself as the Trigger Dr. Discussed the 31 Aug picnic, and then we parted ways. Great to meet another OC, and a very good "first encounter"

Well, I got the ammo, but wanted to try other boots, so I left for the mall. Wandered around there for a couple hours, including food court, sears, and Barnes & Noble, and had no issues. Decided on the boots at sportsmans, so went back for them.
    Here's the scary part of my day...
    While I'm standing in line with my new boots, there's a problem with the register, so we're all in line, going nowhere for a few minutes. The guy in front of me keeps looking back at me/my gun, almost to the point of staring. Finally he asks me (now remember, I'm holding a BIG yellow shoebox)...
    Him "Are you getting boots?"
    Me "Yeah, my old ones are pretty bad"
    Him "I bet those are nice boots"
    Me "Me too, they seem okay..."
    Him "And you have a gun?"

At this point, he leans towards me and tries to TOUCH my gun!! I stepped back with my right foot to place my body and the shoe box between him and the gun, and dropped my strong side arm from holding the box to laying against the gun (just my forearm, so i had contact with it) and said
    "Yes, sir, I have a gun" (I was pretty torqued, so i said that REALLY firm)
    Him "Is it a Glock?"... it didn't seem to bother him that he shouldn't try to touch someone's gun...