Thread: Questions from a Noob

Post imported post

:?

Ok. I've got some questions that may seem pretty stupid, but I've read most of the threads on here and am only able to get a partial picture. I'm also new to the US so navigating the various legal publications is difficult.

So if I understand this, it's 100% legal to open carry (OC) in Virginia anywhere except private property that is posted.

Is it legal to OC in the following:

Post Office?

Police Station?

Schools?

A restaurant?

A bar?

For those places where it is not legal, where is this defined? Is it legal to CC (with permit) in those same places?

Also, I noticed in one post that someone recommended a business card with the various info regarding open carry. Did anyone ever put this together?

Post imported post

buster81 wrote:

Ok. I've got some questions that may seem pretty stupid, but I've read most of the threads on here and am only able to get a partial picture. I'm also new to the US so navigating the various legal publications is difficult.

So if I understand this, it's 100% legal to open carry (OC) in Virginia anywhere except private property that is posted.

Post Office?no, federal property

Police Station?yes, in all non-secure areas

Schools?no. CC allowed in your vehicle only, this is with a validw/permit

A restaurant?yes, OC legal in all restraunts, CC only legal in those that do not serve alcohol.

A bar?trick question as VA does not have "bars" we just have restraunts that have "bars" within them. Your answer is yes though.As the only legal way to carry in any virginia establishment with a ABC license for on premises consumption of alcohol is to OC.

For those places where it is not legal, where is this defined? Is it legal to CC (with permit) in those same places?

Also, I noticed in one post that someone recommended a business card with the various info regarding open carry. Did anyone ever put this together?