Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Simple Question (but there may be no "simple answer")

Post imported post

I have a carry permit in Minnesota. Coupled with my non-resident permit from Florida, I can legally carryin 31 states.

So, here's my question: What the heck is the law in Wisconsin regarding transporting a weapon through the state of Wisconsin in my vehicle??

For the life of me, I cannot seem to find a definitive answer, despite my search.

By the way, I'm an attorney (although not a criminal attorney) and the state of the law in Wisconsin seems unusually (and frustratingly) ambiguous.

Thanks!

Sven

Post imported post

It has to be unloaded and encased. You cannot open carry in a vehicle unless you fall within the exception (police officer, etc..)

See Wisconsin State Statute 167.31

http://www.legis.state.wi.us/statutes/Stat0167.pdf

Post imported post

Sven wrote:
    I have a carry permit in Minnesota. Coupled with my non-resident permit from Florida, I can legally carryin 31 states.

So, here's my question: What the heck is the law in Wisconsin regarding transporting a weapon through the state of Wisconsin in my vehicle??

For the life of me, I cannot seem to find a definitive answer, despite my search.

By the way, I'm an attorney (although not a criminal attorney) and the state of the law in Wisconsin seems unusually (and frustratingly) ambiguous.

Thanks!

Sven
    Although pkbite's post is valid, I think there is a federal transport law that covers this (are you passing though WI or ending up in WI?). Not sure the specifics, but it goes something like as long as its legal where you live and where you want to end up, you may transport a firearm locked and unloaded in the trunk. Others on this fourm should know more

Post imported post

Brigdh wrote: