Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Gun in the car?

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Plainville, CT, ,
    Posts
    120

    Post imported post

    Is it illegal to leave a gun in your car permanently in CT. I searched the state website for gun laws but it isn't mentioned.

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    , ,
    Posts
    66

    Post imported post

    It may very well be legal - I don't know. I *do* know that, in CT, the second time someone steals one of your pistols you can be charged with a class D felony and you can kiss your right to own a gun goodbye. I'd want to be reasonably sure my car wasn't going to get broken into before leaving a gun in it.


  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Enfield, Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    313

    Post imported post

    If you have a permit..you can leave a handgun in your car......and IT IS NOT a felony if someone steals your gun...

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    , ,
    Posts
    66

    Post imported post

    Well, I re-read my source and it turns out it isn't quite as I remembered it:

    "A person must report the loss or theft of any firearm to the local police department within 72 hours of when such person discovered or should have discovered the loss or theft. Any person who fails to make the required report within the required time period shall commit an infraction and be fined not more than $90.00 for a first offense and be guilty of a class D felony for any subsequent offense."

    The key is reporting it within 72 hours "of when you should have discovered it", which I'm sure you'd be able to do under most circumstances. That's from the NRA summary of firearms laws for CT, by the way.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    New Britain, Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    107

    Post imported post

    Lank wrote:
    Well, I re-read my source and it turns out it isn't quite as I remembered it:

    "A person must report the loss or theft of any firearm to the local police department within 72 hours of when such person discovered or should have discovered the loss or theft. Any person who fails to make the required report within the required time period shall commit an infraction and be fined not more than $90.00 for a first offense and be guilty of a class D felony for any subsequent offense."

    The key is reporting it within 72 hours "of when you should have discovered it", which I'm sure you'd be able to do under most circumstances. That's from the NRA summary of firearms laws for CT, by the way.
    I think the '72 hours' is the result of a law that got passed in the 2007 legislative session. There's similar laws in a number of other states.Another piece of feel-good crap that does nothing but make the losers in the state legislature feel good about themselves.

    mg

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •