Thread: Rules and Regulations to Open Carry

Post imported post

I am 19, and I just found out recently that I am permitted to own, operate, and OC a handgun in The Commonwealth of Virginia. Since I am very new to the "Community" I was hoping that somebody could help me with the regulations of the "state" of the weapon required to open carry (i.e. "Locked and loaded" etc..).

Lone Star Veteran

Post imported post

The firearm has to be able to be seen by someone from at least three sides (ie your front, back, and left or right side). As for the cocked and locked question, that is a personal preference, but I would carry ready to use. IE condition 1 for a 1911, or round in the chamber and decocked for any DA/SA auto, and round in the chamber for Glocks. As to the "where" of carrying, I'll let someone else field that one in depth. Basically, no schools or federal property.

Post imported post

State of the weapon?

I guess you mean something like this?

http://www.sightm1911.com/Care/1911_conditions.htm

Basically, if you can....

Actually, this is also being handled here.

http://opencarry.mywowbb.com/forum54/16683.html

It should be noted that the law quoted in the OP of this thread is pre-empted, as are all local laws more restrictive than state law, which maintains no provisions on conditions of carry when OC'd.

Extra credit: http://vaguninfo.com/

More homework: http://www.opencarry.org/va.html

Welcome!
    Why open carry? Because 1911 > 911.

Post imported post

SoldierMedic wrote:
    The firearm has to be able to be seen by someone from at least three sides (ie your front, back, and left or right side). As for the cocked and locked question, that is a personal preference, but I would carry ready to use. IE condition 1 for a 1911, or round in the chamber and decocked for any DA/SA auto, and round in the chamber for Glocks. As to the "where" of carrying, I'll let someone else field that one in depth. Basically, no schools or federal property.