• We are now running on a new, and hopefully much-improved, server. In addition we are also on new forum software. Any move entails a lot of technical details and I suspect we will encounter a few issues as the new server goes live. Please be patient with us. It will be worth it! :) Please help by posting all issues here.
  • The forum will be down for about an hour this weekend for maintenance. I apologize for the inconvenience.
  • If you are having trouble seeing the forum then you may need to clear your browser's DNS cache. Click here for instructions on how to do that
  • Please review the Forum Rules frequently as we are constantly trying to improve the forum for our members and visitors.

Polk County Sherifs response

jimmyw

imported post

My email to Polk County Sherif Tim moore

Mr.Moore

I am writing in regards to the issue of open carry in the city of Amery and Polk county. I am a disabled veteran and a member of the second ammendment foundation, and open carry.org. I have done a;ot of research on open carry in Wisconsin and know that it is legal to open carry. That was settled by the state supreme court since concealed carry is illegal than Wisconsin has to allow us to open carry as the only other means of excercising our second ammendment rights. I also know that no city, town or village can make or enforce a law that is more stringent than the state law. I have found out through my research that across the state some over zealous Law enforcement officers have stopped those that are legally open carrying and giving them citations for things such as disorderly conduct and or disturbing the peace. Now we all know that this is just harassment for those who choose to excercise therir rights. I am not a felon and I am a law abiding citizen but being in a wheelchair puts me at a distinct disadvantage of being an easy target for a robbery or mugging etc. I would like to excercise my second ammendment rights by legallt open carrying for my safety and self defe