Thread: Open Cary allowed in Florida up until....

Post imported post

Florida did until 1987. Read it on the OpenCarry.Org In The News - Miami WIOD Radio News interview of OCDO's Mike Stollenwerk ( http://opencarry.mywowbb.com/forum63/12651.html ).

Does anyone have information/links on why it was stopped?

Thanks in advance,
    Marc

Campaign Veteran

Post imported post

I'm no expert in Florida gun law, but I would imagine it was when the CCW law was enacted as it is there that it is stated you cannot carry openly.
    Eternal vigilance is the price of liberty.

Post imported post

Thanx1

Founder's Club Member - Moderator Gray Peterson's Avatar

Post imported post

Incorrect at least when the law passed. The bill passed in early 1987 to put in a concealed carry law. Someone discovered that the way the law was rewritten, open carry became legal without license. The media freaked out, found an African American person who open carried (I'm not kidding you, folks, they used the race card), then the drumbeat came. Legislature went into session on an emergency session and passed the open carry ban.

Post imported post

Lonnie Wilson wrote:
    Incorrect at least when the law passed. The bill passed in early 1987 to put in a concealed carry law. Someone discovered that the way the law was rewritten, open carry became legal without license. The media freaked out, found an African American person who open carried (I'm not kidding you, folks, they used the race card), then the drumbeat came. Legislature went into session on an emergency session and passed the open carry ban.