Thread: BBQ/OC and target revolver?

Post imported post

Greetings all,

I am new to the OC thing and I'm looking to pick up my first wheelgun. I've always been a semi-auto kinda guy, but I'm in the market for a revolver that I can make into a BBQ gun and also use for some target shooting. I like .357's, so I can use .38s to make small groups in paper. Looking for a large, heavy gun, 5+ inch barrel, with adjustable sights. This will be somewhat of a project gun, so grips, etc. aren't terribly important as I'll probably replace them soon anyway. The most important criteria is accuracy. I'm looking for something in the $500-$800 range, and I'll be shopping for used guns once I decide on a model.

I know next to nothing about revolvers so I'm really looking for some advice on brands, models, accuracy, and overall quality.

Thanks in advance for all your help.

Post imported post

Smith & Wesson 8 Round 357 Rem. Mag/4" Matte Stainless Barrel/Adjustable Sight

Specifications
    Item: S&W M627 178014 PRO 357 4 AS 8R MSS

Type
    Revolver

Action
    Single / Double

Caliber
    357 Remington Mag

Barrel Length
    4"

Capacity
    8 rd

Safety
    No Manual Safety

Grips
    Rubber

Sights
    Interchangeable (Front); Adj. (Rear)

Weight
    41.2 oz

Finish
    Stainless

If you think like a Statist, act like one, or back some, you've given up on freedom and have gone over to the dark side.
    The easiest ex. but probably the most difficult to grasp for gun owners is that fool permission slip so many of you have, especially if you show it off with pride. You should recognize it as an embarrassment, an infringement, a travesty and an affront to a free person.

~Alan Korwin

Post imported post

I guess I forgot to add, I'd like to avoid S&W and Ruger because of their complicity with the Clinton administration and the AWB. I'm not opposed to buying them used, but new is out of the question.

Post imported post

essayons wrote:
    I'd like to avoid S&W and Ruger