Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Police taping you

Post imported post

As a police officer I always carry a digital recorder in my shirt pocket. It has gotten many officers out of BS complaints and allegations (or course, it has gotten officer in the same as well). Just wondering on anybody's feeling (pro or con) as to video's and audible equipment in cruisers and on officers. I actually had an officer tell me I was breaking the rules concealing my digital recorder and that the public would get mad when they found out they were recorded.

Banned
    Washington Island, across Death's Door, Wisconsin, USA

Post imported post

Reese Joye was a despised DWI attorney in Charleston that IIRC pushed the law requiring dash-cams in SC patrol cars (or maybe it was Dearth-o'-wits). At first everybody resisted them and their use, but now I think that the cameras are valued by prosecutors and defense attorneys and cops and citizens alike.

Post imported post

As long as it is not illegal I have no problem with it. We tape them here in Wa. all the time,why would it not be OK the other way around. People should know that anything they say to an Officer that is acting in official capacity is not private.
    "A fear of weapons is a sign of retarded sexual and emotional maturity."

"though I walk through the valley in the shadow of death, I fear no evil, for I know that you are by my side" Glock 23:40

Post imported post

nitrovic wrote:
    As a police officer I always carry a digital recorder in my shirt pocket. It has gotten many officers out of BS complaints and allegations (or course, it has gotten officer in the same as well). Just wondering on anybody's feeling (pro or con) as to video's and audible equipment in cruisers and on officers. I actually had an officer tell me I was breaking the rules concealing my digital recorder and that the public would get mad when they found out they were recorded.
    I do not carry one.