• We are now running on a new, and hopefully much-improved, server. In addition we are also on new forum software. Any move entails a lot of technical details and I suspect we will encounter a few issues as the new server goes live. Please be patient with us. It will be worth it! :) Please help by posting all issues here.
  • The forum will be down for about an hour this weekend for maintenance. I apologize for the inconvenience.
  • If you are having trouble seeing the forum then you may need to clear your browser's DNS cache. Click here for instructions on how to do that
  • Please review the Forum Rules frequently as we are constantly trying to improve the forum for our members and visitors.

Sig GSR vs Kimber Desert Warrior

Flintlock

imported post

I am new to the thought of 1911 ownership and have done a fair amount of reading, researching,and handling of 1911's. I have narrowed my decision down to these two choices. From the 1911 enthusiasts out there that know, what shouldI expect from these two pieces?

I am interested in owning thisweapon for the purposes of open carry, concealed carry, home defense, andshtf, civil unrest,combat-type situations. Competition is not important.

Holster availability, operating in adverse weather conditions, ease of maintenance, and reliability are contributing factorsto this decision. Thanks in advance for any help.

eyesopened

imported post

Only reason I'd shy away from a SIG GSR is that it has an external extractor. I'm not saying it has extraction issues, but a 1911 IMO should have an internal extractor. To me it's just more aesthetically pleasing.