Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Idaho CCW permit valid?

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    ID/NC, , USA
    Posts
    31

    Post imported post

    I am about to move to the Jacksonville area, and would like to know if my CCW Permit will be valid. I know that N.C. recognizes Idaho permits, so it would normally not be a problem. The issue is that I am 20 years old. I have a valid permit from Idaho, which states under 21, and is valid until November of 2013. Do you think I would have problems with LEO if I had an encounter?

    On a side note, Idaho generally issues permits to individuals 21 and over, but has a stipulation that permits can be issued to 18-20 year olds on a case to case basis. This is how I received my permit. I have not found any N.C. law stating they do the same.

  2. #2
    Regular Member SPRINGFIELD_45_ACP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Richlands, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    124

    Post imported post

    When you arrive the Jacksonville,NC area WELCOME glad to have another CCW patron on board...I live in the Richlands,NC area when you get settled in maybe we can get together along with some others for a OC event.....As for your question give some the state researchers a chance to read your post...They a will a accurate answer for you...........ONCE AGAIN WELCOME

  3. #3
    Opt-Out Members
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    , North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    178

    Post imported post

    § 14‑415.24. Reciprocity; out‑of‑state handgun permits.

    (a) A valid concealed handgun permit or license issued by another state is valid in North Carolina if that state grants the same right to residents of North Carolina who have valid concealed handgun permits issued pursuant to this Article in their possession while carrying concealed weapons in that state.
    If your permit is still valid in Idaho, it is still good in North Carolina. According to USACarry.com, Idaho issues non-resident permits so it should not be an issue to get the address changed to your current North Carolina address.

    Good Luck and Welcome to North Carolina.

  4. #4
    State Researcher
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    2,350

    Post imported post

    Interesting question! I would say that there's a good chance that you'll be fine, based solely on the fact that you legally have a permit from your State. Another thing to consider is that it's very rare that you should ever have to present your permit at all.

    Unfortunately I cannot give you a definite answer, as I am not a lawyer, and I've neverheard ofthis situation before. My advice to you would be to contact the NC AG's office and ask them. If you aren't comfortable with that, or can't get a straight answer from them, let me know and I will give them a call myself .

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greensboro, ,
    Posts
    235

    Post imported post

    Piggybacking on what DreQo said,

    If NC grants reciprocity to Idaho (and it does as of July 25, 2007), then your permit is valid in NC under both the reciprocity statutes previsouly cited and NCGS 14-269.
    § 14‑269. Carrying concealed weapons.

    ((a1) It shall be unlawful for any person willfully and intentionally to carry concealed about his person any pistol or gun except in the following circumstances:

    (snip)

    (2) The deadly weapon is a handgun, and the person has a concealed handgun permit issued in accordance with Article 54B of this Chapter or considered valid under G.S. 14‑415.24.





    Here is a thumbnail of concealed carry laws:

    In North Carolina, concealed handguns may not be carried:


    • In law enforcement or correctional facilities such as a prison;
    • In financial institutions such as a bank;
    • In any space occupied by state or federal employees, including state and federal courthouses;
    • In schools or on school grounds;
    • In areas of assemblies, parades, funerals or demonstrations;
    • In any place where alcoholic beverages are sold and consumed (such as some restaurants);
    • In any area where concealed handguns are prohibited by federal law;
    • In any place of business that has posted a sign banning concealed weapons on its premises; (be warned, North Carolina is NOT a tresspass state. If you are caught carying a cancealed weapon past a now carry sign, you CAN be arested on the spot.)
    • By any person while consuming alcohol or while under the influence of alcohol or any controlled substances (unless obtained legally and taken as directed by a physician).

    To possess a concealed handgun in North Carolina, you must:

    • Carry your permit and a valid form of identification with you at all times.
    • Disclose the fact that you have a valid concealed handgun permit when you are approached or addressed by any law enforcement officer in North Carolina
    • Inform the officer that you are in possession of a concealed handgun.
    • Present both the permit and valid identification at the request of an officer
      NOTE: You should not attempt to display either your weapon or your permit unless directed to by an officer.

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    ID/NC, , USA
    Posts
    31

    Post imported post

    Thank you all for your advice. Springfield - Im up for an OC event. Myabe fire up a BBQ or something.
    RayBurton - Thank you for the quick run down!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •