View Poll Results: Does Open Carry Deter Crime or Attact Crime?

Voters
106. You may not vote on this poll
  • Deter

105 99.06%
  • Attract

1 0.94%
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Open Carry and Crime

Post imported post

Thoughts? Experiences?

Founder's Club Member

Post imported post

Well, since I have begun OC I have caught more attention from police than criminals. . .

Since 7/04/08 I have not been attacked, robbed or stabbed. . . I have been detained twice by police and treated like less than an average citizen (although not terribly so).

Post imported post

I have noticed on 3 seperate occasions that my OC made specific people rapidly leave a store or restaraunt that I was patronizing. Based on their appearance, I can only assume that they thought I was a cop, and wanted to get out of where I was.

Respectfully,

Pol

Founder's Club Member

Post imported post

Theseus wrote:
    Well, since I have begun OC I have caught more attention from police than criminals. . .
    Me, too.

But then I asked myself, "What's the difference?"

As far as I'm concerned, a cop illegally detaining an OCer, unlawfully demandinghis/her ID, or threateningan OCeris committing an offense. That there is little in the way of statutes against it is an aberration, not proof that it isn't a crime.
    I'll make you an offer: I will argue and fight for all of your rights, if you will do the same for me. That is the only way freedom can work. We have to respect all rights, all the time--and strive to win the rights of the other guy as much as for ourselves.

If I am equal to another, how can I legitimately govern him without his express individual consent?

There is no human being on earth I hate so much I would actually vote to inflict government upon him.

Moderator / Administrator Grapeshot's Avatar

Post imported post

NavyLT wrote:
    snip....... The 1% might be the bank robbers or whatever, who will shoot the armed guy first.