Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: new to OC in louisiana

Post imported post

Im new to Open Carrying in Louisiana and hope to make contact with like minded fellow citizens. I live nea Monroe. Anyone want to chat , hit me up. Rick

Post imported post

I am in Shreveport if you are ever over this way.

I get over your way every once in awhile, but not often.

Welcome to the site!

Post imported post

Hi! Thanks for the reply! I hope to hear back from you. Thnx.Rick

Post imported post

I am in Shreveport as well. I am leary about OCing for the simple fact that LEOs harrass law-abiding citizens.

LACarry, is there any city or Caddo ordinances that restrict OC?

Post imported post

The only place that differs from State law that I am aware of off hand is no carry in cemeteries or parks.

The cemetery thing is a Caddo ordinance (passed before the preemption law, so statutorily legal, though unconstitutional), the park thing is a Shreveport thing (passed after the preemption law, so of no authority- I am working with the city council to get that repealed, in the mean time, though, it could be beaten in court easily, I should think).

Do I know you?

When are we going shooting?

Post imported post

I'm not sure that we know each other, although it is possible we have crossed paths.

I work at LSU Med Ctr (a no firearm zone ) and use the range at Shooter's USA in Bossier City. I'll probably be heading over to the range this weekend sometime if you would be interested in meeting up to do some shooting.

Maybe I'll start OC'ing when I get some Federal HST's...could you post a link to the State laws concerning OC. I'm not sure I have come acrossed it yet in my reading.

Post imported post

You can legally carry (concealed) at the med center if you have a parish permit, which you get at the courthouse. That is not to say you won't be breaking any rules, but you won't be breaking any laws. I have one and can carry at LSUS legally, for example.