Thread: Guns in apartments?

Post imported post

First things first, I'm new to OpenCarry.org, so hi! I'm a college student in the gun-hating Sonoma County.

I was browsing the forums and read something questioning the legality of having a loaded firearm in my own apartment. For the life of me I could not find the post a second time. Since the property is shared with other tenants, it was mentioned it can be considered a public space. The way I understood it is, I rent the structure but not the land, which provides legal complications with firearms. I have a feeling I read something wrong and it's completely legal or the poster was confused, but I wanted to run it by you folks for some feedback.

I guess to sum it up: can I legally have a loaded and concealed handgun in my apartment (where I am the sole occupant of my unit)?

And second, has anyone had any experience with OC in Sonoma or Napa county? I'd love to know what I'm in for!

Founder's Club Member

Post imported post

Well, the way I understand it:

When I rent/lease an apartment that property remains mine for the term of my rental/lease agreement. I am allowed to carry and possess loaded IN my apartment, but once I walk outside the door I am no longer on "my" property and can not carry loaded or concealed without a CCW.

jwarren116 wrote:
    First things first, I'm new to OpenCarry.org, so hi! I'm a college student in the gun-hating Sonoma County.

I was browsing the forums and read something questioning the legality of having a loaded firearm in my own apartment. For the life of me I could not find the post a second time. Since the property is shared with other tenants, it was mentioned it can be considered a public space. The way I understood it is, I rent the structure but not the land, which provides legal complications with firearms. I have a feeling I read something wrong and it's completely legal or the poster was confused, but I wanted to run it by you folks for some feedback.