• We are now running on a new, and hopefully much-improved, server. In addition we are also on new forum software. Any move entails a lot of technical details and I suspect we will encounter a few issues as the new server goes live. Please be patient with us. It will be worth it! :) Please help by posting all issues here.
  • The forum will be down for about an hour this weekend for maintenance. I apologize for the inconvenience.
  • If you are having trouble seeing the forum then you may need to clear your browser's DNS cache. Click here for instructions on how to do that
  • Please review the Forum Rules frequently as we are constantly trying to improve the forum for our members and visitors.

Cold weather question

frommycolddeadhands

imported post

Hey all, I'm still fairly new at the carrying game, and I had a question.

I live in sunny Grand Forks, North Dakota, and the temperature the past few days has been minus 17 with a minus 30-40 windchill. Usually when I'm out and about I have my .380 ppk in a nylon holster inside a coat pocket. Couple that with the thick winter gloves that are needed for going to and fro, I seriously doubt I'd be able to get my firearm into action in less than...three seconds maybe?

So my question is, does anyone have any special techniques for carrying in arctic weather conditions to allow a faster response?

Also, when it is SERIOUSLY cold outside, is there any particular gun that would work better than another. (ie will a semi auto have problems with the slide getting cold, would a revolver have better reliability?)

Cheers

Flintlock

imported post