Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Buying problem

Post imported post

Went to buy a little .22 rifle for target range shooting for the wife. got a denial from nics because of a 15 year old D- felony for not paying traffik tickets !!
    Anybody had to clean off there record before ? Or get around this somehow?

I'm new to this gun stuff and want to be legal in everyway .
    Thanks, Tim

also, I'm in Nassau county,L.I., NY

Post imported post

Pony up some cash and talkto a lawyer about getting it expunged. Not sure that it won't show up still.
    The thing about common sense is....it ain't too common.
    Will Rogers

Banned
    Washington Island, across Death's Door, Wisconsin, USA

Post imported post

L.I., NY. SOL?

Post imported post

Not paying traffic ticket is a FELONY in NY?
    "The tree of liberty must be refreshed from time to time with the blood of patriots and tyrants." - Thomas Jefferson

Banned
    Washington Island, across Death's Door, Wisconsin, USA

Post imported post

If a felon may properly be disbarred his rights under color of law then we all can be legally disarmed by sufficiently lowering the bar of felony - even to mere traffic citations.

Post imported post

If the gun is 'for the wife' then she should buy it! (assuming of course that she does not also have a felony record)

Gentleman Ranker

Post imported post

In general, the Federal law is that the authority which imposed the felony conviction may, if they wish, expunge/pardon/whatever it and thereby restore your firearms rights. The procedure and policy for this vary from state to state, and can run from a routine application to forget-about-it, ain't happenin'.

If you are able to do some legal self-education, I believe the information about the formal procedure for NY is out there somewhere. The reality of it can be somewhat different, so I really recommend paying a knowledgeable attorney to find out about this.