• We are now running on a new, and hopefully much-improved, server. In addition we are also on new forum software. Any move entails a lot of technical details and I suspect we will encounter a few issues as the new server goes live. Please be patient with us. It will be worth it! :) Please help by posting all issues here.
  • The forum will be down for about an hour this weekend for maintenance. I apologize for the inconvenience.
  • If you are having trouble seeing the forum then you may need to clear your browser's DNS cache. Click here for instructions on how to do that
  • Please review the Forum Rules frequently as we are constantly trying to improve the forum for our members and visitors.

Carry on Private Property

Trainer23

imported post

First introduction:
I am new to the group. I have been lurking but this is my first post. I am a pistol instructor, NRA Member, and have a NM CCW. My primary handgun is a Glock 23. ExUSAF.

My question:
In NM a property owner may disallow carry on their property. I understand that this can potentially lead to trespass.

Does an owner/agent have to ask you to leave if you are discovered carrying?

I am confused about the consequences of not abiding by to an owner’s wishes, intentional or not. I am sure ignoring a verbal command to leave is trespass, but what about ignoring or ignorance of a sign? When does carrying on private property become a criminal or civil issue?

Is it a civil, misdemeanor or a felony?

I appreciate any comments and discussion.

snoball

imported post

First of all, the statutes consider this a petty misdemeanor. The wording is as follows:

[align=left]NMSA 1978 Section 30-7-4 [/align]

[align=left]E. Carrying prohibited on private property.