Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: QUICK QUESTION!

Post imported post

IM NEW TO THIS OC AND CC STUFF. IM 22 YEARS OLD AND NEVER HAVE OWNED A GUN. IM PLANNING ON GETTIN A 9MM S&W IN A COUPLE WEEKS. MY QUESTION IS THIS, AND IT MIGHT B STUPID ON MY PART, BUT IN ORDER TO OC, DO YOU HAVE TO HAVE A PERMIT? OR DO YOU JUST HAVE TO OWN THE GUN AND HAVE IT REGISTERED UNDER YOUR NAME?

Post imported post

No permit. I don't think it needs to be registered. Not sure what all that paperwork is for, though, when I buy one from a store. Have fun!

Post imported post

I'm assuming you're in Arizona, since you're posting your question in the Arizona forum. Arizona has no gun registration, and no permit is required to carry the firearm, as long as it is holstered and not concealed.

There's a lot of good info here in the AZ forum; I would recommend doing some reading here so you will be armed with knowledge before you're armed with your pistol.

Welcome to OCDO!

Post imported post

If you've never 'owned' a gun... 'Strongly suggest you find a range that'll help ya outor take a course in gun handling and safety 'fore you screw up. 'Lotta noobs shoot themselves or somebody else 'cause they don't know or understand the mechanics of the device... much less how to shoot.

'Suspect you're new to AZ... with all the 'permit 'n registration' stuff. Art 2/26 AZ Constitution pre-empts anything else. Look it up. OC has beern the norm in AZ since before there was an AZ.

Post imported post

Sonora Rebel wrote:
    If you've never 'owned' a gun... 'Strongly suggest you find a range that'll help ya outor take a course in gun handling and safety 'fore you screw up. 'Lotta noobs shoot themselves or somebody else 'cause they don't know or understand the mechanics of the device... much less how to shoot.
    +1