Thread: Anyone know if this would be legal to open carry?

Post imported post

http://serbu.com/top/superShorty.php

The above shotgun is classified as a "AOW". Now I know you can't open carry a handgun in Texas currently, and can open carry a long gun legally, but where does a "AOW" (Any Other Weapon) fall? This is more of a hypothetical question, but just seems cool if you could have a custom leg holster/restraint made and strap that 16" bad boy to your thigh! Although not practical, it would just be fun to see the looks you would get if you could legally open carry it.

Activist Member

Post imported post

I'm far from an expert on TX law, and in fact know virtually nothing about it.

However, according to: http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.u...ighlightType=1

Title 10, Section 46.01.5
    "Handgun" means any firearm that is designed, made, or adapted to be fired with one hand.

Post imported post

Felid`Maximus wrote:

"Handgun" means any firearm that is designed, made, or adapted to be fired with one hand.
    Does that mean if i lift weights hard core for the next year and can wield a M-60 like Rambo I can open carry that? Because that would be awesome

Campaign Veteran

Post imported post

Felid`Maximus wrote:
    I'm far from an expert on TX law, and in fact know virtually nothing about it.

If that's true, then since the Serbu has two handles, quite clearly made for two hands, then it may be considered a long gun?

It has a pistol grip though... I'd consult with the local yokels on this one (err, I mean, attorneys).

Post imported post

Prophet wrote:
    Felid`Maximus wrote:
    Does that mean if i lift weights hard core for the next year and can wield a M-60 like Rambo I can open carry that? Because that would be awesome
    How do you keep someone from sneaking up and twisting off your belt links?
    Or are you going to tote that heavy feed case?
    Besides an M-60 without tracers, is like BHO without a spending bill. What good is it?