Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: can I buy a handgun with a warrant

Post imported post

I have a misdemeanor warrant for unpaid fines in michigan I now live in louisiana. I am wondering if I can still buy a handgun and get a concealed handgun permit. I can't afford to pay off the fines yet almost 10,000. I really need a gun for protection I am an electrician and work in some really bad parts of town(i live in new orleans and have been robbed at knife point three times) I have no felonies and no violent offences. the fines were due to some bad checks long story but I went to court on all the cases and just have not paid it all off yet

Post imported post

From form 4473, question 11.d: "Are you a fugitive from justice?" It doesn't specify that the complaint has to be a felony. I guess you can't know for sure unless/until you submit to a NICS check. It depends on whether they reported this warrant up the legal informational food chain. I expect it would be a problem, yes.

-ljp

Post imported post

cant you get on a payment plan or somethin? why would you not take care of a warrant, you know theyll find you at the most inconvenient time

but yea you wont be able to buy from a FFL

Post imported post

I have been making payments but they told me they would not release the warrant untill it was all paid off

Post imported post

ryan26 wrote:
    I have a misdemeanor warrant for unpaid fines in michigan I now live in louisiana. I am wondering if I can still buy a handgun and get a concealed handgun permit. I can't afford to pay off the fines yet almost 10,000. I really need a gun for protection I am an electrician and work in some really bad parts of town(i live in new orleans and have been robbed at knife point three times) I have no felonies and no violent offences. the fines were due to some bad checks long story but I went to court on all the cases and just have not paid it all off yet