Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Going to college in wisconsin

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    , Michigan, USA
    Posts
    3

    Post imported post

    HI everybody, I have been reading everybodys posts for a while, and now it's time for me to join in. I am about to graduate highschool, and go to UWM in wisconsin. I am 18 and want to bring a pistol with me for protection. My older brother has been thinking about giving me a pistol as a going away present, so how old do I have to be to own a pitol in wisconsin, also how old do I have to be to openly carry a pistol?

    Mike

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    , Michigan, USA
    Posts
    3

    Post imported post

    I know in michigan you can own a pistol at 18 years or older here is the law from michigan.gov, but i can't find anything on wisconsin law.



    3. How old do I have to be in order to legally own a pistol in Michigan?

    MCL 28.422 Eighteen (18) years of age. However, Federal law prohibits a federally licensed firearms dealer from selling a pistol to anyone under the age of twenty-one (21).

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Washington Island, across Death's Door, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    9,193

    Post imported post

    I don't know.

    Here is all of Wisconsin Statutes http://www.legis.state.wi.us/rsb/stats.html

  4. #4
    Wisconsin Carry, Inc. Shotgun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Madison, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    2,668

    Post imported post

    In Wisconsin, you have to be 18 also. If you're going to live on campus, don't bring your gun. If it is discovered you will almost certainly be expelled.
    A. Gold

    Failure to comply may result in discipline up to and including termination.
    The free man is a warrior. - Nietzsche "Twilight of the Idols"

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    , Michigan, USA
    Posts
    3

    Post imported post

    I couldn't find anything on the wisconsin legislative site, but I did find something on the brady campaign site lmao. Man those people at the brady campaign are friggin idiots!
    JUVENILE SALE
    Is it illegal to sell handguns to anyone under 21 years of age?No


    State law does not restrict selling handguns to juveniles under the age of 21 by unlicensed sellers. Under federal law, only federally licensed dealers are prohibited from selling or delivering handguns or ammunition for handguns to any person under the age of 21. A strong state law is needed to stop unlicensed persons from selling handguns to those under the age of 21.

  6. #6
    Wisconsin Carry, Inc. Shotgun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Madison, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    2,668

    Post imported post

    OK, here you go:

    948.60 Possession of a dangerous weapon by a person
    under 18. (1) In this section, “dangerous weapon” means
    any firearm, loaded or unloaded; any electric weapon, as defined
    in s. 941.295 (4); metallic knuckles or knuckles of any substance
    which could be put to the same use with the same or similar effect
    as metallic knuckles; a nunchaku or any similar weapon consisting
    of 2 sticks of wood, plastic or metal connected at one end by
    a length of rope, chain, wire or leather; a cestus or similar material
    weighted with metal or other substance and worn on the hand; a
    shuriken or any similar pointed star−like object intended to injure
    a person when thrown; or a manrikigusari or similar length of
    chain having weighted ends.
    (2) (a) Any person under 18 years of age who possesses or
    goes armed with a dangerous weapon is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.
    (b) Except as provided in par. (c), any person who intentionally
    sells, loans or gives a dangerous weapon to a person under 18
    years of age is guilty of a Class I felony.
    (c) Whoever violates par. (b) is guilty of a Class H felony if the
    person under 18 years of age under par. (b) discharges the firearm
    and the discharge causes death to himself, herself or another.
    (d) A person under 17 years of age who has violated this subsection
    is subject to the provisions of ch. 938 unless jurisdiction
    is waived under s. 938.18 or the person is subject to the jurisdiction
    of a court of criminal jurisdiction under s. 938.183.
    (3) (a) This section does not apply to a person under 18 years
    of age who possesses or is armed with a dangerous weapon when
    the dangerous weapon is being used in target practice under the
    supervision of an adult or in a course of instruction in the traditional
    and proper use of the dangerous weapon under the supervision
    of an adult. This section does not apply to an adult who transfers
    a dangerous weapon to a person under 18 years of age for use
    only in target practice under the adult’s supervision or in a course
    of instruction in the traditional and proper use of the dangerous
    weapon under the adult’s supervision.
    (b) This section does not apply to a person under 18 years of
    age who is a member of the armed forces or national guard and
    who possesses or is armed with a dangerous weapon in the line of
    duty. This section does not apply to an adult who is a member of
    the armed forces or national guard and who transfers a dangerous
    weapon to a person under 18 years of age in the line of duty.
    (c) This section applies only to a person under 18 years of age
    who possesses or is armed with a rifle or a shotgun if the person
    is in violation of s. 941.28 or is not in compliance with ss. 29.304
    and 29.593. This section applies only to an adult who transfers a
    firearm to a person under 18 years of age if the person under 18
    years of age is not in compliance with ss. 29.304 and 29.593 or to
    an adult who is in violation of s. 941.28.
    History: 1987 a. 332; 1991 a. 18, 139; 1993 a. 98; 1995 a. 27, 77; 1997 a. 248;
    2001 a. 109; 2005 a. 163.
    Sub. (2) (b) does not set a standard for civil liability, and a violation of sub. (2) (b)
    does not constitute negligence per se. Logarto v. Gustafson, 998 F. Supp. 998 (1998).

    A. Gold

    Failure to comply may result in discipline up to and including termination.
    The free man is a warrior. - Nietzsche "Twilight of the Idols"

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    The Northwoods, lakeland area, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    2,170

    Post imported post

    I am aware of a minimumage of 21 restriction to purchase handgun ammunition, but I am unclear about posession of said gun. We had a 20 yr old LEO in town and his mother had to purchase his practice ammunition for him so he could shoot his handgun.

  8. #8
    Campaign Veteran GlockMeisterG21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Pewaukee, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    637

    Post imported post

    As I understand the issue you can posses, transport, fire, carry, and generally use a pistol as long as you are 18. However, you cannot buy one from a licensed dealer unless you are 21. Also most places require you to be 21 to purchase ammunition or to even shoot it at their range. You can get around the ammo thing by getting someone else to buy it for you or telling them it's being put into a rifle like a high point carbine. As for the range thing, hopefully they won't card you. They never did me but I looked far older than my true age at 18. IANAL


    Edit for IANAL.
    The 1911 pistol remains the service pistol of choice in the eyes of those who understand the problem. Back when we audited the FBI academy in 1947, I was told that I ought not to use my pistol in their training program because it was not fair. Maybe the first thing one should demand of his sidearm is that it be unfair. Col. Jeff Cooper, GUNS & AMMO, January 2002

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    NE Wyoming, ,
    Posts
    29

    Post imported post

    Unfortunately for you, UWM is in the dead center of the liberal epicenter of the state. I am willing to bet good money that if you are living on campus at UWM they won't have any way for you to store a firearm on campus. I had a friend who had a case of shotgun ammo sent to his dorm three years ago, and the shells were confiscated for a year, and his dorm room searched for a firearm. Long story short, the more you need the firearm, the more they are going to do to keep you from having it. Fortunately my university allowed storage in an armory for the few years I had to be in the dorms.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •