Thread: Another Vehicle Question

Post imported post

i was wondering if its legal to carry a holstered gun on ur lap while driving or does it have to be in the glove box and all that stuff...can u keep it under your seat also?

Post imported post

On the lap: Is a bit of a gray area, but I would go with yes. It's legal to OC.

Under the seat: Unless you have a CCW or it's in a case unloaded, NO! That would be considered a concealed weapon. IANAL ( I am not A Lawyer)

Post imported post

sometimes i carry my gun in my lap by itself, or put it in the open spot under the radio. i dont think its illegal since its open and iv never read anything in the statutes mentioning it

Post imported post

DO NOT put it under the seat! It can be in your lap... in the console or glove box. It can be on your person (openly). It can be on the seat... dash or anywhere visible within your control. Suggest you wear it.

Post imported post

alright. thanks for clearin that up. cuz i was riding with my gun on my lap the other day and i was thinkin to myself "if i get pulled over, am i gonna get arrested for this?" haha. i would think that if a police officer came to the window of my car and seen a gun on my lap that he would freak or something.

Post imported post

If you are pulled over... it is advised that you inform the Officer that you are armed. Then,,, ask how he /she wants you to proceed. Keep both hands on the steering wheel. Do not 'reach' for anything.... including your wallet for ID/License. Tell them where the weapon is located. Strongly advise you wear it. I carry at the 10 O'Clock on my left hip in that it will not interfere with the seat belt buckle and is opposite of my wallet in the right rear pocket. It is also somewhat observable in that position. (Door open)

Post imported post

On your lap would be considered "plain view", in my opinion, unless it is under a magazine or towel or something. No different than if it were placed on the seat next to you.