Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: CPL for 18+

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Spokane, Washington, USA
    Posts
    558

    Post imported post

    In Idaho, under Title 18-33 section 11, it states, "individuals between the ages of 18 and 21 years old who in the judgement of the sheriff warrant the issuance of the license to carry a concealed weapon." Is there a similar law in Washington state?

    I am asking this out of sheer curiosity. I am 23 and have a CPL for ID and WA.

  2. #2
    Regular Member compmanio365's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Pierce County, Washington, USA
    Posts
    2,013

    Post imported post

    I was just looking in the RCWs, and I have never seen anything like that. Frankly, I think if you're old enough to go to war for your country, you're old enough to drink booze and carry a gun. I'd like to see something introduced to lower the age to own a handgun down to 18. Just my .02.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kirkland, Washington, USA
    Posts
    159

    Post imported post

    compmanio365 wrote:
    I was just looking in the RCWs, and I have never seen anything like that. Frankly, I think if you're old enough to go to war for your country, you're old enough to drink booze and carry a gun. I'd like to see something introduced to lower the age to own a handgun down to 18. Just my .02.
    +1

  4. #4
    Regular Member just_a_car's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Auburn, Washington, USA
    Posts
    2,558

    Post imported post

    The RCW's say you can own a handgun at 18, but you can only carry it under special conditions:

    RCW 9.41.060 Subsections (6), (7), (8), and (9) all apply to "any person" in regards to RCW 9.41.050 which defines certain restrictions on firearms carry.

    See also the section titled "Possession of pistol by person from eighteen to twenty-one": RCW 9.41.240, which references the above two sections.

    I agree they should lower the legal carry age, since they can own it. It's kind of like the sound suppressor ("silencer") law where you can own one and not use it (which we will hopefully change with the bill this session).
    B.S. Chemistry UofWA '09
    KF7GEA

  5. #5
    Regular Member just_a_car's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Auburn, Washington, USA
    Posts
    2,558

    Post imported post

    NavyLT wrote:
    Also RCW 9.41.050:

    (3)(a) A person at least eighteen years of age who is in possession of an unloaded pistol shall not leave the unloaded pistol in a vehicle unless the unloaded pistol is locked within the vehicle and concealed from view from outside the vehicle.

    (b) A violation of this subsection is a misdemeanor.
    Yes, but if they are within the descriptions of any subsection of RCW 9.41.060, they are exempt from that law.
    B.S. Chemistry UofWA '09
    KF7GEA

  6. #6
    Regular Member just_a_car's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Auburn, Washington, USA
    Posts
    2,558

    Post imported post

    NavyLT wrote:
    just_a_car wrote:
    SNIP
    Right. I was just pointing out another section of the RCW that points towards the lawful possession of a handgun by an 18 to 20 year old.
    Actually, that's a restriction on the lawful possession, but I see where you're coming from. I was gearing my post towards showing how someone 18-20 could legally carry, not go into the details of every situation where they couldn't, as it's much simpler to know you're in the right by one of those exemptions than to make sure you're not breaking some random law you forgot to read.
    B.S. Chemistry UofWA '09
    KF7GEA

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •