• We are now running on a new, and hopefully much-improved, server. In addition we are also on new forum software. Any move entails a lot of technical details and I suspect we will encounter a few issues as the new server goes live. Please be patient with us. It will be worth it! :) Please help by posting all issues here.
  • The forum will be down for about an hour this weekend for maintenance. I apologize for the inconvenience.
  • If you are having trouble seeing the forum then you may need to clear your browser's DNS cache. Click here for instructions on how to do that
  • Please review the Forum Rules frequently as we are constantly trying to improve the forum for our members and visitors.

State and Military law

stxrebel

imported post

I'm new to Montana I understand the open carry laws and concealed, however that does not pertain to my question.

If someone were to come into my home and show hostile force, am I legally allowed to shoot. and what could happen from local LE, and would the military be able to try me on anything. even if it is an off base occurence?

any insight would be greatly appreciated

abearir

imported post

stxrebel wrote:
I'm new to Montana I understand the open carry laws and concealed, however that does not pertain to my question.

If someone were to come into my home and show hostile force, am I legally allowed to shoot. and what could happen from local LE, and would the military be able to try me on anything. even if it is an off base occurence?

any insight would be greatly appreciated

See Montana Code Annotated section 45

http://data.opi.mt.gov/bills/mca_toc/45_3_1.htm