Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Public Hearing on SB-353

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Griswold CT, Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    196

    Post imported post




    General Assembly
    Committee Bill No. 353



    January Session, 2009
    LCO No. 4646
    *04646SB00353JUD*
    Referred to Committee on Judiciary
    Introduced by:
    (JUD)
    AN ACT CONCERNING THE MICROSTAMPING OF SEMIAUTOMATIC PISTOLS.
    On and after January 1, 2011, no person, firm or corporation shall sell, deliver or otherwise transfer any semiautomatic pistol at retail unless such semiautomatic pistol is designed and equipped with a microscopic array of characters that identify the make, model and serial number of the pistol in two or more places on the interior surface or internal working parts of the pistol and that are transferred by imprinting on each cartridge case when the pistol is fired, provided the Attorney General certifies that the technology used to create the imprint is available to more than one manufacturer unencumbered by any patent restrictions. For the purposes of this subsection, "semiautomatic pistol" means a pistol the operating mode of which uses the energy of the explosive in a fixed cartridge to extract a fired cartridge and chamber a fresh cartridge with each single pull of the trigger.
    http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillsta...ll_num=SB00353

    Public Hearing on Monday, 16 March 2009






  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Plymouth, Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    241

    Post imported post



    *JUDICIARY COMMITTEE MONDAY, MARCH 16, 2009

    The Judiciary Committee will hold a public hearing on Monday, March 16, 2009] at 10: 00 A. M. in Room 2C of the LOB. Please submit 45 copies of written testimony to Committee staff at least two hours prior to the start of the hearing in Room 2500 of the LOB. Testimony submitted after the designated time may not be distributed until after the hearing. Sign-up for the hearing will begin at 8: 00 A. M. in Room 2500 of the LOB. Sign-up will conclude at 9: 30 A. M. Speaker order will be decided by a lottery system. Anyone wishing to testify after the drawing is closed will be placed at the end of the list. The first hour of the hearing is reserved for Constitutional Officers, State Agency Heads, Municipal Chief Elected Officials and Legislators. Speakers will be limited to 3 minutes of testimony.

    SUBJECT MATTER: Crime Bills

    * S.B. No. 353 (COMM) AN ACT CONCERNING THE MICROSTAMPING OF SEMIAUTOMATIC PISTOLS.

    * S.B. No. 358 (COMM) AN ACT CONCERNING PROHIBITING THE TRANSFER OF ASSAULT WEAPONS OR MACHINE GUNS TO MINORS.


    E-mail, and Write, and Phone Call YOUR State Legislators! We urge you communicate with YOUR State Representative and State Senator. You can find your CT legislator at this http://www.cga.ct.gov/maps/townlist.asp or in the Blue pages under “ Connecticut , State of” then “Legislators”. Telephone numbers can be found on legislators websites. Also, inform your friends who have an interest. Ask them to communicate.

    While we urge you to use your own words, use the KISS principle, and please…do not be insulting or negative towards Any Senator, Representative, or anyone else in the Capitol.After you contact YOUR legislators, contact the appropriate Committee, find them on Connecticut General Assembly . Identify yourself and Town, State your position and why you Support or Oppose the bill. Be Brief, if they have questions they will ask.

    Review all current bills and other info at the CCS website http://www.ctsportsmen.com




    Judiciary Committee Members 2009-10





    SENATORS MCDONALD, (Chair), 27th District, HANDLEY, (Vice Chair), 4th, COLEMAN, 2nd; GOMES, 23rd, DOYLE, 9th, MEYER, 12th.







    SENATORS KISSEL, (Ranking Member), 7th District; McLACHLAN, 24th; RORABACK, 30th.







    REPRESENTATIVES LAWLOR, (Chair), 99th District; FOX, (Vice Chair), 146th; BARRY, 12th; BERGER, 73rd; CLEMONS, 124th; CONWAY, 61st; DILLON, 92nd; FRITZ, 90th; GODFREY, 110th; GONZALEZ, 3rd; GREEN, 1st; HAMM, 34th; HEWETT, 39th; HURLBURT, 53rd; MCMAHON, 15th; MORRIS, 140th; OLSON, 46th; REEVES, 143rd; ROLDAN, 4th; SERRA, 33rd; SPALLONE, 36th; TABORSAK, 109th; TONG, 147th; WALKER, 93rd; WINFIELD, 94th; WRIGHT, 41st.







    REPRESENTATIVES O'NEILL, (Ranking Member), 69th District, AMAN, 14th; COUTU, 47th; HAMZY, 78th; HETHERINGTON; 125th, HOVEY, 112th; KLARIDES, 114th; LABRIOLA, 131st; ROWE, 123rd.







    Senior Committee Administrator: Deborah Blanchard Room 2500, LOB 860-240-0530

    Mcdonald@senatedems.ct.gov; Handley@senatedems.ct.gov; Eric.Coleman@cga.ct.gov;Gomes@senatedems.ct.gov; Doyle@senatedems.ct.gov; Meyer@senatedems.ct.gov, John.A.Kissel@cga.ct.gov; Michael.McLachlan@cga.ct.gov; Andrew.Roraback@cga.ct.gov;mlawlor99@juno.com; Gerald.Fox@cga.ct.gov; Ryan.Barry@cga.ct.gov;Jeffrey.Berger@cga.ct.gov; Charles.Clemons@cga.ct.gov; Theresa.Conroy@cga.ct.gov; Mary.Fritz@cga.ct.gov; Bob.Godfrey@cga.ct.gov; Minnie.Gonzalez@cga.ct.gov; Kenneth.Green@cga.ct.gov; Gail.Hamm@cga.ct.gov; Ernest.Hewett@cga.ct.gov; Bryan.Hurlburt@cga.ct.gov; Faith.McMahon@cga.ct.gov; Bruce.Morris@cga.ct.gov; Melissa.Olson@cga.ct.gov; Peggy.Reeves@cga.ct.gov; Kelvin.Roldan@cga.ct.gov; Joseph.Serra@cga.ct.gov; James.Spallone@cga.ct.gov; Joseph.Taborsak@cga.ct.gov; William.Tong@cga.ct.gov; Toni.Walker@cga.ct.gov; Gary.Winfield@cga.ct.gov; Elissa.Wright@cga.ct.gov; Arthur.ONeill@housegop.ct.gov; Bill.Aman@cga.ct.gov; Christopher.Coutu@housegop.ct.gov; William.Hamzy@housegop.ct.gov; John.Hetherington@housegop.ct.gov; DebraLee.Hovey@housegop.ct.gov; Themis.Klarides@housegop.ct.gov; David.Labriola@housegop.ct.gov; TR.Rowe@housegop.ct.gov;



    [size=]


  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Griswold CT, Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    196

    Post imported post

    Please submit 45 copies of written testimony to Committee staff at least two hours prior to the start of the hearing in Room 2500 of the LOB.
    What does this mean? Whose testimony?


  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Plymouth, Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    241

    Post imported post

    If you want to testify (means provide public comment) it's best to type what you want to say and make copies of it to distribute to the committee members. Not all members will be at the meeting and some ay come and go during the hearingsdepended on their schedule. If you provide written testimony it gets posted on the cga website and becomes part of the historical documentation. They also transcribe what you say and that gets posted as well.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Candlewood Lake, Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    21

    Post imported post

    I e-mailed many of the commitee members and did get this back from Sen Kissel office Dear Steve,


    Thank you for your email to Senator Kissel. He does plan to oppose SB 353 when it comes before him for a vote as well as any other legislation that would infringe upon Second Amendment rights.


    Please do not hesitate to contact us with any other thoughts or concerns you may have.

    Sincerely,



    Elisabeth Madin Swanson

    Legislative Aide

    Senator John A. Kissel

    (860) 240-0531

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Griswold CT, Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    196

    Post imported post

    If you don't mind myasking, what did you email to the members?



  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Candlewood Lake, Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    21

    Post imported post

    I simple letter that I oppose SB 353 Micro Stamping

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Candlewood Lake, Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    21

    Post imported post

    To date he was the only one to answer back

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Enfield, Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    313

    Post imported post

    Senator Kissel is my Senator and a Ranking member of the Judiciary Committee, which hears Firearms Legislation. Not sure his views on Open Carry but he is very much anti gun-control.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •