Thread: Introduction/Open carry in NOLA

Post imported post

I just wanted to take this time to introduce myself. My name is Chris and I live in New Orleans. I follow this forum on a daily basis, and I enjoy reading about everyone's opinions and experiences. I am a student at the University of New Orleans, and I am very pro-gun. But I don't do any campus protests or anything, being that I take mostly online classes.

Anyway, you may remember a few months back, a man named Estcrh who came on this forum and spoke about open carrying in the French Quarter. Well, I live in the Quarter and know Estcrh personally. I, too, have been trying to get some response from the NOPD about open carrying in my neighborhood. As you may know, the Quarter is really getting invaded by some really bad guys. A woman was murdered last January right around the corner from my house. I know that Louisiana law says that I can open carry my firearm, but you know NOLA's finest.....they'll do something illegal. If I was in my native parish of St. Bernard, or anyplace else in the state, I wouldn't be worried about OC'ing. But being that there's some sickos in OPP, I guess I'm a little hesitant. I am 20 years old, so I cannot get a CCL. Even if I could, I still think CC is giving up. Sorry if I offended any CC'ers.

I've been trying to contact the guys in charge of the NOPD's 8th district, Major Hosli and Lt. Selby. I am getting no response from either. I want to know if I'll get hauled off for OC'ing. I have no problem whatsoever with being stopped and questioned. That means they're doing their jobs by stopping me and making sure the public is safe. But the NOPD has been known to do many illegal, fishy things.

Any suggestions, or would anyone help me in contacting either of the two?Thanks for taking the time to listen to me.

P.S. Since I am 20, I do not have a modern pistol. I have a .44 black powder revolver. Different yes, but what else am I to do to protect myself and my family?