Actualy, that is an (incorrect) interpretation of the law. One cannot carry a concealed weapon in Michigan, but knives can be carried for utility, which is why the law is tied to intent.
i also recently got kicked out of meijer in port huron for having a buck knife on my belt. Is that right or is it just me or did they just cause an issue for no reason.
First welcome to the site Red. 2nd the law states as follows.
5. Is it illegal to have a knife with a blade over 3 inches in my possession?
MCL 750.226 No. Michigan law specifies that a person, with intent to use the knife unlawfully against another, shall not go armed with a knife having a blade over 3 inches in length.
I carry a 5 inch buck in a sheath (sheath does not constitute concealed), most places except in the car. It has to be treated as a person w/a firearm with no cpl license. Any blade over 3" cannot be in your pocket, it has to be open carried. Please research the other blade laws.
750.226 Firearm or dangerous weapon; carrying with unlawful intent. It is not against state law to carry a knife in your pocket that is over 3" in length. Some localities may restrict it, but state law does not. OTOH, if your carrying a Case Peanut for the purpose of SD, then you are in violation of the law, which is a five year felony.
Carrying firearm or dangerous weapon with unlawful intentâ€”Any person who, with intent to use the same unlawfully against the person of another, goes armed with a pistol or other firearm or dagger, dirk, razor, stiletto, or knife having a blade over 3 inches in length, or any other dangerous or deadly weapon or instrument, shall be guilty of a felony, punishable by imprisonment in the state prison for not more than 5 years or by a fine of not more than 2,500 dollars.
750.227 Concealed weapons; carrying; penalty. It is legal to carry a blade over 3" in your pocket (providing it complies with local law) in Michigan. You just can't carry it with the intention of using it as a weapon, or with the intent to use it unlawfully against another person.
(1) A person shall not carry a dagger, dirk, stiletto, a double-edged nonfolding stabbing instrument of any length, or any other dangerous weapon, except a hunting knife adapted and carried as such, concealed on or about his or her person, or whether concealed or otherwise in any vehicle operated or occupied by the person, except in his or her dwelling house, place of business or on other land possessed by the person.
(2) A person shall not carry a pistol concealed on or about his or her person, or, whether concealed or otherwise, in a vehicle operated or occupied by the person, except in his or her dwelling house, place of business, or on other land possessed by the person, without a license to carry the pistol as provided by law and if licensed, shall not carry the pistol in a place or manner inconsistent with any restrictions upon such license.
(3) A person who violates this section is guilty of a felony, punishable by imprisonment for not more than 5 years, or by a fine of not more than $2,500.00.