Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Handgun permit questions

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    La follette, ,
    Posts
    11

    Post imported post

    I just moved to Tennessee about 6 months ago and would like to purchase a handgun to carry concealed. What are the steps I need to do in order to do this.

    Another question I have is with regards to the criminal background check. When I was 20 I was charged with a non violent felony (computer crime) but I was never convicted. I did a plea agreement in which I paid a fine, did community service and under this agreement the charge was dropped and the complaint expunged. Will I have a problem getting a permit?



    Thanks











  2. #2
    Regular Member Fallguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    McKenzie Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    705

    Post imported post

    To simply purchase a handgun you do not need any permit. This could possibly even give you a heads up if your prior record will come up. Since you do not need a permit to have a handgun/firearm inyour home/business either.

    Many times expungments don't show up on background checks and you have to follow through with presenting court documents to show the expungment. So if possible it may be a good idea to contact the court and go ahead and get those records.

    You can see a bit of the information on getting a TN Handgun Carry Permit on the state's website here.

    Basically you will need to take a Dept of Safety certified safety class. You can check your local paper or I thing there may be sources on here where classes are available. The cost can range anywhere between $50 - $100. Upon successful completion you will be given a certificate that is valid for 6 months.

    Within that 6 months you go to a Drivers License testing center to fill out an application.Take the certificate and proof of USCitizenship or Lawful Permit Residency.The cost of the permit is $115 and is non-refundable and due at the time of the application. They will direct you to a place to have your fingerprints taken.

    Then it is basically sit and wait. The state has 90 days to issue you the permit or give you a reason for denial. You can appeal a denial.
    "The tree of liberty must be refreshed from time to time with the blood of patriots and tyrants." -- Thomas Jefferson

    "They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety." -- Benjamin Franklin

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    La follette, ,
    Posts
    11

    Post imported post

    So is the fact that it was a non violent crime (charged, not convicted) have any bearing on whether I would be approved or denied? Basically if they run a check on me and see that it is on my record but somehow not expunged like you said it might not be, would it be more likely that I would be denied? I thought I read somewhere that that was only the case for felons of violent crimes.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    La follette, ,
    Posts
    11

    Post imported post

    Actually I may have just found the answer to that question here..



    http://tennessee.gov/safety/handgun/qualifications.htm




    [*]Applicants are required to be a resident of the State of Tennessee; [*]Be at least twenty-one (21) years of age; [*]Applicants shall not have been convicted of any felony offense punishable for a term exceeding one (1) year; [*]Applicants shall not currently be under indictment or information for any criminal offense punishable by a term exceeding one (1) year;



    It seems I should be ok..


  5. #5
    Regular Member Fallguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    McKenzie Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    705

    Post imported post

    Eamus Catuli wrote:
    So is the fact that it was a non violent crime (charged, not convicted) have any bearing on whether I would be approved or denied? Basically if they run a check on me and see that it is on my record but somehow not expunged like you said it might not be, would it be more likely that I would be denied? I thought I read somewhere that that was only the case for felons of violent crimes.
    There is a bill in the state legislature now to separate violent from non-violent felonies. But for now...a felony is a felony.

    A felony by it's nature can carry a sentence of at least 1 year. Even if you are sentenced to less. The maximum for any misdemeanor conviction is 11 months and 29 days.

    But as you said, the law says, convicted so I agree you should be able to get a HCP in the end. I'm just saying you may have to show the record of the expungment to the Dept of Safety before you are approved.
    "The tree of liberty must be refreshed from time to time with the blood of patriots and tyrants." -- Thomas Jefferson

    "They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety." -- Benjamin Franklin

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    La follette, ,
    Posts
    11

    Post imported post

    Thanks for the replies. I'm not too worried about it because the law is only concerned about those convicted, which I never was. So, expunged or not, it technicallyshould not matter.

  7. #7
    Regular Member Fallguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    McKenzie Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    705

    Post imported post

    Make sure and let us know when you get it!!
    "The tree of liberty must be refreshed from time to time with the blood of patriots and tyrants." -- Thomas Jefferson

    "They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety." -- Benjamin Franklin

  8. #8
    Campaign Veteran
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Lobelville, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    2,615

    Post imported post

    When you say you did a plea deal, do you mean that you pled guilty to a lesser charge (mistermeaner) to get the felony charge dropped?

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    La follette, ,
    Posts
    11

    Post imported post

    Yes, but the terms of the agreement were that I pay the fine, do the community service and all charges are dropped, which they were.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •