Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Minimum age for OC in Utah?

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009

    Post imported post

    Just curious about the current laws in utah regarding minimum age for OC? The maps on here are not making sense with other people's stories..

  2. #2
    State Researcher Kevin Jensen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Santaquin, Utah, USA

    Post imported post

    Welcome to OCDO, sg_pilot! :celebrate

    The maps on the homepage of define "open carry" as the act of carrying LOADED handgun openly in public.

    The founders of this site have put the age to OC in Utah at 21, because a concealed firearm permit is required in Utah to lawfully carry a LOADED firearm, and Utah has a requirement that one must be 21 to apply for a Utah permit. Some states allow for 18 year olds to receive a permit, like the State of Maine. An 18 year old with a permit may carry fully loaded.

    At the age of 18, it is perfectly legal to carry an UNLOADED firearm without a permit in Utah.
    76-10-502. When weapon deemed loaded.
    (1) For the purpose of this chapter, any pistol, revolver, shotgun, rifle, or other weapon described in this part shall be deemed to be loaded when there is an unexpended cartridge, shell, or projectile in the firing position.
    (2) Pistols and revolvers shall also be deemed to be loaded when an unexpended cartridge, shell, or projectile is in a position whereby the manual operation of any mechanism once would cause the unexpended cartridge, shell, or projectile to be fired.
    (3) A muzzle loading firearm shall be deemed to be loaded when it is capped or primed and has a powder charge and ball or shot in the barrel or cylinders.
    "An armed society is a polite society. Manners are good when one may have to back up his acts with his life." Robert A. Heinlein

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts