Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Moving Back to WV OC & CCW laws

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    , ,
    Posts
    3

    Post imported post

    Wife and I will be moving back to West Virginia in a few months and looking for someone in the Huntington area that does CCW classes. I had a back injury followed by a coronary and my SC CWP expired while I was in the hospital. By the time I realized it was renewal time I was over the grace period. I'm still covered under HR218 for carry but once I leave this taxed to death hole I'm not coming back in 5 years to have my I.D. redone and prove I can hit a target with 50 rounds at 7 yds.

    I know Cabell county still has Kim Wolfe as Sheriff was wandering what the turn around time is on permits, and an Instructor in the area. If they need references for me I'm related to many fine upstanding crooks (politicians) there.



    Thanks. SC is trying to work on OC laws so support them where you can. It was a Democrat that got us CCW and class 3 weapons here sort of funny there.

  2. #2
    State Researcher
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Lebanon, VA
    Posts
    676

    Post imported post

    The same proof of training you used to get your SC CWP also fulfills West Virginia's training requirement. You can find additional information here or PM me.
    James M. "Jim" Mullins, Jr., Esq.
    Admitted to practice in West Virginia and Florida.

    Founder, Past President, Treasurer, and General Counsel, West Virginia Citizens Defense League, Inc.
    Life Member, NRA

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    , ,
    Posts
    3

    Post imported post

    Hopefully we can get ours renewed before we move by law they have 90 days to issue but since the budget cuts 120 to 180 days is not unheard ofhey went from 5 people to one doing thejob.



    Thanks for the info.

  4. #4
    State Researcher
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Lebanon, VA
    Posts
    676

    Post imported post

    It may not be worthwhile to renew your SC CWP if you're definitely moving soon. WV law provides that a reciprocal state's license is invalid in WV unless you are a resident of the issuing state (recently-passed legislation modifies that rule to instead provide that the person must not be a WV resident, but that still would not help you). SC law may also render a SC CWP invalid if you move out of the state unless you own real property there.
    James M. "Jim" Mullins, Jr., Esq.
    Admitted to practice in West Virginia and Florida.

    Founder, Past President, Treasurer, and General Counsel, West Virginia Citizens Defense League, Inc.
    Life Member, NRA

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    , ,
    Posts
    3

    Post imported post

    Are there any instructors in the Huntington area? In SC if you were to move from a reciprocal state they would just want you to pay the SC fee if the other state required at least 8 hours training. We are looking to be there before school starts since we have a 11 y/o who would be going back into public school. We've home-schooled for the last 3 years due to the schools here being about 30 years behind the times. They still teach that the Civil War was about slavery, instead of states rights. Math and English are even worse.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •