Thread: Question for the experts

Post imported post

My question is: May I carry my firearm in a case, in a backpack?

Thanks in advance for the expert advice

Campaign Veteran

Post imported post

A backpack, no. A case no also exept in your car and in state parks, and it MUST be unloaded. I have asked the question isn't carrying a gun around in a case concealed carry? and I believe it is. I am not a lawyer so take my answer for what it's worth, a fellow gun owner who gains more and more legal knowledge every day.

ben

Banned
    Washington Island, across Death's Door, Wisconsin, USA

Post imported post

It is illegal to carry a concealed gun in Wisconsin in a holster or a backpack or a grocery sack or a ziploc baggie. Applying the seemingly required negative-logic, to carry a gun it must be obviously a gun.

Post imported post

Spongebob wrote:
    My question is: May I carry my firearm in a case, in a backpack?

Thanks in advance for the expert advice
    Wait a minute...one can possess an unloaded/encased gun anywhere in the state, including inside a school zone. If your gun is unloaded/encased (encased on a container designed to hold a firearm) it doesn't matter where you carry the case whether in a backpack or in your hand, it is legal.

Does someone else see if I am missing anything?

Post imported post

BJA wrote:
    A backpack, no. A case no also exept in your car and in state parks, and it MUST be unloaded. I have asked the question isn't carrying a gun around in a case concealed carry? and I believe it is. I am not a lawyer so take my answer for what it's worth, a fellow gun owner who gains more and more legal knowledge every day.

ben