Thread: Driving thru Virginia Commonwealth University w/ Concealed Handgun & CHP?

Post imported post

*ok, I know this isn't about Open-Carrying, but I was told by a member of this forum to try posting on this forum to get some answers. Hopefully someone can point me in the right direction*

I am a VA resident and have a valid CHP to carry concealed. In the Code of Virginia, there is a law that says that concealed handguns are not allowed at VCU. BUT, this university is INTEGRATED into the city and the city's streets (meaning it is not fenced off on it's own property as is University of Mary Washington and University of Richmond). So this means that city streets run through the campus, and residents of Richmond (like myself) who are not VCU students will sometimes have to drive through the campus to get to their final destinations

With that said, I drive THROUGH VCU to get to certain destinations such as Carytown and use Main Street (or any of the other streets that run through VCU) to get there. Main Street runs through VCU. I am assuming that Main Street is CITY PROPERTY the entire length that it runs through VCU.

Therefore my questions are:
    *Are these streets still considered non-VCU property even though they run through the campus?
    *If I am driving on Main Street while traveling through the VCU campus, am I legally allowed to carry as long as I stay in my car on the street?

I suppose these questions would be best answered by LEOs, lawyers, and those that are familiar w/ the law best. Thanks!

Post imported post

This has been discussed before see: http://opencarry.mywowbb.com/view_topic.php?id=21103and http://opencarry.mywowbb.com/view_topic.php?id=21154

Also use of the search function at top of page may come up with more results.
    Yes I carry a Bible and a Gun, your point.
    Vindiciae Contra Tyrannos (meaning: "A defence of liberty against tyrants")