Thread: Interstate sale

Post imported post

I am thinking of buying a gun from my co-worker who is a MD resident while I'm a VA resident. I thouhgt that since we are residents of different states, we cannot have a private transaction and have to go to an FFL to do the transfer, but he assures me that it only applies to handguns, while what he issellingis an SKS rifle. I want to make absolutely sure that the sale would be 100% legal - can anyone advice me on this?

As a side note - what is the price range SKSs go for? He owned his for probably about 10 years but barely shot it.

Thanks!

Post imported post

Negative, you need to do it through an FFL if it's interstate in any way, rifles or handguns.. sorry..

edit: point of clarification, on a long gun transfer only the receiving end needs to be an FFL, but the sender needs to check state regs on their end to see what forms need to be filled out, that can vary..

Post imported post

Post imported post

Thanks! I won't buy it from him then. I'll just have my local FFL order it for me and do a full transfer with a background check and everything and avoid the private sale alltogether...

Accomplished Advocate peter nap's Avatar

Post imported post

I seem to remember something about sales in contiguous states. I'll see if I can find it.

Post imported post

peter nap wrote:
    I seem to remember something about sales in contiguous states. I'll see if I can find it.
    How Can I Buy a Gun From Another State?
    This is looking at the flip side of the previous question:
    (B3) May an unlicensed person obtain a firearm from an out-of-State
    source if he arranges to obtain the firearm through a licensed dealer in his own State?

A person not licensed under the GCA and not prohibited from acquiring
    firearms may order a firearm from an out-of-State source and obtain the
    firearm if an arrangement is made with a licensed dealer in the
    purchaser's State of residence for the purchaser to obtain the firearm