• We are now running on a new, and hopefully much-improved, server. In addition we are also on new forum software. Any move entails a lot of technical details and I suspect we will encounter a few issues as the new server goes live. Please be patient with us. It will be worth it! :) Please help by posting all issues here.
  • The forum will be down for about an hour this weekend for maintenance. I apologize for the inconvenience.
  • If you are having trouble seeing the forum then you may need to clear your browser's DNS cache. Click here for instructions on how to do that
  • Please review the Forum Rules frequently as we are constantly trying to improve the forum for our members and visitors.

Another schoolzone question

Sajuuk

imported post

I just have a question. Maybe it was answered already, but I couldn't find anything on the board specific to my situation. Of course, I'm not good with search terms, so pointing me to the right thread would be helpful if it's up already.

Anyway, I've been lurking the boards for a while and finally registered. Good weather is coming, and the family and I like to ride our bikes towards the lakefront area from home. I was considering open-carrying this year, to help the cause. Problem is that I'm locked within "school zones". In fact, an alleged "school" is right on my block, apparently. I didn't realize it was a school until the map was posted. Now, if I want to ride bikes, do I put my gun in a case, then carry the case in a backpack? Then, when I get three blocks away, (or out of the brown bubbles on the map), remove it from the case and holster it?

I'm still pretty timid about the whole thing, and my wife doesn't fully support it yet, so I'm glad to see peoples' efforts here.

Thanks in advance!

-Ben

BJA

Campaign Veteran
imported post