• We are now running on a new, and hopefully much-improved, server. In addition we are also on new forum software. Any move entails a lot of technical details and I suspect we will encounter a few issues as the new server goes live. Please be patient with us. It will be worth it! :) Please help by posting all issues here.
  • The forum will be down for about an hour this weekend for maintenance. I apologize for the inconvenience.
  • If you are having trouble seeing the forum then you may need to clear your browser's DNS cache. Click here for instructions on how to do that
  • Please review the Forum Rules frequently as we are constantly trying to improve the forum for our members and visitors.

Curious about your reasons for Open Carry.... in Wisconsin

Kay Nine

imported post

Hello.

I am brand new to OpenCarry.org.... I live in Southeastern Wisconsin.

For years I have been highly irritated by the fact that Wisconsin does not allow Concealed Carry. I believe Concealed Carry would allow us to even the odds against the growing number of violent crimes we have experienced (especially in the Milwaukee Metro area).

I am intrigued by the recent show of support in our state for Open Carry.... hence my question: I'm curious as to the eventual expected outcome of these demonstrations of Open Carry in Wisconsin. How many people are using it as a bridge to eventually getting Concealed Carry passed? And how many really believe Open Carry is all we need?

I'm interested in anyone's opinions/ideas/concerns on both Concealed and Open Carry in Wisconsin. I personally believe Concealed Carry is a better option: I would rather keep a low profile while still being legally allowed to have a means of protecting myself.

Thanks in advance for your responses.

Dutch Uncle

Campaign Veteran
imported post

Open carry is never "all we need", since it is treated as a privilege, not a right. If you have to ask permission to bear arms, you don't really have that right.