The Louisiana HouseCommittee on Administration of Criminal Justice sided with law-abiding gun owners by defeating a bill that would have prohibited firearms on property belonging to the New Orleans Sewerage and Water Board.

Senate Bill 72, introduced by State Senator Edwin R. Murray (D-4), was defeated Tuesday, June 2 by a 10-3 vote. This bill allowed an exception to the recent law that prohibits employers from denying Louisianans the right to transport and store lawfully possessed firearms in locked, privately-owned motor vehicles,includingwhile traversing or parking in any parking lot, parking garage or other parking area.

Please contact the members of the House Committee on Administration of Criminal Justice who voted to defeat SB72 and thank them for standing up for our rights. Contact information can be found below.

State Representative Damon J. Baldone (D-53)

State Representative Mickey James Guillory (D-41)

State Representative Lowell C. Hazel (R-27)

State Representative Frank A. Howard (R-24)

State Representative Joseph P. Lopinto III (R-80)

State Representative Jonathan W. Perry (R-47)

State Representative John M. Schroder, Sr. (R-77)

State Representative Ricky J. Templet (R-85)

State Representative Mack A. "Bodi" White, Jr. (R-64)

State Representative Gary L. Smith, Jr. (D-56)